Trump’s Russia, I mean America

flag_of_the_soviet_union-svg

October 2007: “Look at Putin — what he’s doing with Russia — I mean, you know, what’s going on over there. I mean this guy has done — whether you like him or don’t like him — he’s doing a great job in rebuilding the image of Russia and also rebuilding Russia period.” 

What do you know about Russia? Is Russia still a communist country? Is a Federal semi-presidential republic style of government a Democracy? Is there truly a free election? Or is Putin simply an unchecked dictator in a tailored suit and tie? Think about it for a second, what do you know about the Russia of today? If the answers to all of these questions is “Shit, I got no clue” you are in good company. I bet for many of you though, at least those of you over fifty, you remember the Russia of yesterday.

December 2011: “Putin has big plans for Russia. He wants to edge out its neighbors so that Russia can dominate oil supplies to all of Europe. I respect Putin and Russians but cannot believe our leader (Obama) allows them to get away with so much…Hats off to the Russians.”

What I find so fascinating about so many of the Trump supporters, particularly those over 60 years old is that they should have very strong and negative views of Russia. They would remember what kind of fear they felt when they heard the words U.S.S.R. or KGB and now they support a man who from all outward appearances has what I can only describe as a major man crush on the leader of what was in their era, my era, the evil empire.

July 31, 2015: “I think I’d get along very well with Vladimir Putin. I just think so.”

Again, here is the thing, what do you know about Russia? From the outside looking in it would appear the “Bear” has been somewhat declawed. But the mystery about this giant country remains. I have very vivid memories of this mysterious beast lurking on the outer edges of our life. Almost an enigma if you will that popped up every four years at the Olympics and provided us with a guarded glimpse of who they were. Do you remember their performances at the Olympics? They were cheaters then and guess what, they are still cheaters today.

Nov. 10, 2015: “I got to know him very well because we were both on ’60 Minutes,’ we were stablemates, and we did very well that night.”

This is how Amnesty International currently describes Russia: “Freedoms of expression and peaceful assembly remained severely restricted; the authorities dominated the print and broadcast media, and further extended their control over the internet; growing numbers of individuals were arrested and criminally charged for criticizing state policy and publicly displaying or possessing materials deemed extremist or otherwise unlawful under vague national security legislation; refugees faced numerous obstacles in accessing international protection; serious human rights violations continued in the North Caucasus, and human rights defenders reporting from the region faced harassment.” Does that sound like a Democracy?

Dec. 18, 2015: “He’s running his country and at least he’s a leader, unlike what we have in this country.”

Trump supporters don’t trust Hillary Clinton but they trust a man who seemingly gushes every time he talks about Putin. Think about it, what has Russia offered us that would validate any amount of trust we should provide them? The Russians continue to screw us in Syria, supporting a bloodthirsty tyrant as millions of Syrians die or try to escape. How long do you think the line is for Russian citizens to leave their country to come to America? When was the last time you heard one of your neighbors say they wanted to leave the U.S. for Russia? What was the last Russian product you bought at Wal-Mart?

Feb. 17, 2016: “I have no relationship with him other than he called me a genius. He said Donald trump is a genius and he is going to be the leader of the party and he’s going to be the leader of the world or something.”

Is Trump just infatuated with Putin or is there something else about this relationship that the American people aren’t getting? How about money. As Time magazine reported; “the real truth is that, as major banks in America stopped lending him (Trump) money following his many bankruptcies, the Trump organization was forced to seek financing from non-traditional institutions. Several had direct ties to Russian financial interests in ways that have raised eyebrows. What’s more, several of Trump’s senior advisors have business ties to Russia or its satellite politicians.”  These Russian financiers, people who have the power to potentially make or break Trump, Inc. orbit within the Putin circle. How is that for leverage? The ability to severely impact what is most important to The Donald…The Trump Empire.

July 28, 2016: “I don’t think he has any respect for Clinton. I think he respects me. I think it would be great to get along with him.”

Are there benefits to better relations with Russia? Sure there are, but if I had to pick one country over the other I would chose China first. Honestly, I am not sure Russia would even be in my top five. I find it ironic that all of these patriots, all of these white nationalist, these people who vigorously claim to support the red, white and blue and democracy and are prepared to defend its honor against the “liberal” cause would support a man like Trump. I can only assume these people want to be ruled rather than governed. For me, it is the only conclusion I can draw comrades.

“I’m back in the U.S.S.R., You don’t know how lucky you are boy, Back in the U.S., Back in the U.S.,  Back in the U.S.S.R..” – The Beatles

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Trump’s Russia, I mean America

  1. Love your thoughts…..and yes I remember Russia during the ’60s…ole Kruschev banging his shoe on the desk at the UN…sounds like something Trump would do. LIke you, I can’t comprehend Trump dogs claiming to be super patriots kowtowing to a candidate who is buddies with Putin. Scares the crap out of me.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Suze says:

    Trump is the “Manchurian Candidate” through and through

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Are United States of America citizens going to show their senses | Marcus Ampe's Space

Leave a Reply

