Get out and vote today!

vote-for-clinton
“Men and women in my lifetime have died fighting for the right to vote: people like James Chaney, Andrew Goodman and Michael Schwerner, who were murdered while registering black voters in Mississippi in 1964, and Viola Liuzzo, who was murdered by the Ku Klux Klan in 1965 during the Selma march for voting rights.” –  Jeff Greenfield

 “If you’re going to vote for somebody because you think they have a great faith in God, you’d better be sure that God has faith in them.” –  Lewis Black

“We focus so much on our differences, and that is creating, I think, a lot of chaos and negativity and bullying in the world. And I think if everybody focused on what we all have in common – which is – we all want to be happy.” – Ellen DeGeneres
 
About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Get out and vote today!

  1. Pretty sure God has no faith in either one of these nitwits. I know I don’t. Great line by Lewis Black, and GREAT reminder of how precious our right to vote really is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suze says:

    I waited in line for a few hours the other day just to vote early. The others in line were nervous, but we had no issues with interference. It had been expected after all that we would be intimidated by a rather nasty group bent on promoting one candidate over the other.
    It might have been helpful that the election office had hired guards for the few days of early voting. It might have helped that people here in this town truly do like their neighbors. It might have helped that not a single person wore any stickers, or carried any signs showing their political affiliation.
    I found myself surrounded by the elderly, naturalized citizens, native Americans, a few people of various religious faiths….and I was so encouraged by a sense of solidarity within this large and varied group. I think perhaps, our votes have never mattered more than in this contentious election and we were all of us cognizant of that.
    Now, we wait. And hope. And even the non-religious are praying.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I live in a very affluent neighborhood, though I no longer consider myself affluent. I heard a lot of chatter from these “elite” high income republicans about how they would have preferred having Mike Pence at the top of ticket rather than “that other guy”. As I waited, I made small talk with the neighbors I can still tolerate and ignored those that I can’t. And then something very surprising happened, they asked are you voting Republican or Democrat and depending on which handed you a blue or red ticket (guess which color signified which party). I was pleasantly surprised to find that in my soild red district I wasn’t the only one holding a blue ticket. Honestly, I was pretty shocked. Even my next door neighbor had a blue ticket.

      So having to vote in a ultra conservative Baptist Church, on a basketball court with Old Testament scripture on it and then being identified amongst my neighbors and peers as a Democrat (like they already didn’t know) was a very surreal experience.

      The lady behind me just became a US citizen, from Canada, and this was her first election. She said and I quote “I hope I don’t need to move back home”. I responded if you do is there room for two more.

      I am not sure God has a dog in this fight. I would suspect if He/She exist He/She is laughing their ass off. I know I would be.

      Should be an interesting night. I am hoping “that other guy” gets Trumped early so I can go to bed at a decent hour. I got plenty of beer, popcorn and I think I will be ordering a pizza.

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

