How do we heal? Some will, some can’t.

“One reason people resist change is because they focus on what they have to give up instead of what they have to gain.” – Rick Godwin

As I stood in line this morning in the basketball gym of the ultra conservative Baptist Church to vote (yes I have a problem with this) I looked at all the white, middle-aged faces surrounding me and wondered, “How are we going to heal after this election?”. My neighborhood, and my polling place is not a very diverse slice of the rest of the nation. Standing in front of me and behind were college graduates, MBA’s, Doctors, Lawyers (a lot of Lawyers this morning), Bankers, Accountants, Real Estate Developers, and business owners both large and small.

At 7:25 am there was a lot of wealth and affluence in that gymnasium. I realized this morning that the reality is whoever becomes the next President will have little effect on the people I was standing with. Their businesses, their law practices won’t have the slightest hiccup no matter who wins. But they are here to vote for Trump because that is what is expected of them, that’s what they said they were going to do at the cocktail party Saturday night, and at the Theater Friday. They are high wealth, white, Republicans and love him or hate him, Trump is the man at the top of Ronald Reagan’s party. If he doesn’t win though they will be okay, they will go on with their BMW driving lives, setting the cruise control and rolling on. They won’t be angry, they won’t pout but I can promise you if Clinton “fails” (I will let you define what a failure is) they will be quick to remind anyone and everyone that they voted for Trump.

But the Trump supporter who yelled “F*ck you” to me, the head cheerleader for the “deplorable” crowd when he wakes-up Wednesday morning, and if Trump has lost, guess what, he is going to be okay too. The difference between the BMW driving crowd and the truck driving, gun loving, Duck Dynasty watching, Cracker Barrel eating, NASCAR crowd is anger. “F*ck you” guy is tired of losing, tired of seeing the faces at work change from white to light brown, tired of watching the membership at his church, the Holy Truth in Christ Southern Baptist Church dwindle and die off. He is pissed off that the Mom and Pop company he works for was sold to a Corporation headquartered in New York, that he has a female boss, that his favorite bar is now a Bistro & Brew Pub, and that “Mexicans” have moved into his neighborhood. In short, the world is changing and he refuses to play along and by God he shouldn’t have too.

What “F*ck you” guy doesn’t understand, or better yet, doesn’t want to understand is that Trump didn’t have a magic wand to turn back time. Trump spoke (yelled?) in terms and with words that gave “F*ck you” guy some glimmer of hope that we could go back to the good old days, when men were men and women stayed home, had babies and dinner and a beer ready and waiting when the whistle blew at 5 pm. He believed Trump could deliver this but you and I know he couldn’t and he wouldn’t. In “F*ck you” guy’s mind, Trump was the great white hope, leading the revolution, righting the wrongs the liberals have piled on top of him, gays, pray and abortion, and he is pissed off and angry.

Here is thing, most are better off now than they were eight years ago. The Great Recession was hard on everyone, including me. But is it any surprise that “F*ck you” guy thinks he isn’t better off? Who wants to work with a pissed off and angry guy? Who wants to promote a pissed off and angry guy? Who wants to deal with someone unwilling to move forward, adapt to the changing world, or to the changing market? That’s right, a pack of other pissed off and angry guys. Sounds just like a Trump rally doesn’t it?

“In our lives, change is unavoidable, loss is unavoidable. In the adaptability and ease with which we experience change lies our happiness and freedom.” –  The Buddha

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to How do we heal? Some will, some can’t.

  1. Funny you should mention the polling place. I used to have to vote in a super-conservative evangelical megachurch, and I too felt it was a form of electioneering. Now I live in a vote-by-mail only state, and I can’t understand why other states don’t do it. No polling places, no machines to worry about, perfect paper trail, and hand-counted. They compare your signature on the ballot to your registration form. The ballots show up in your mail box weeks ahead of Election Day. You can vote in your pajamas, with a good cup of coffee!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Good stuff, my friend. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nan says:

    What you wrote? So true.

    P.S. I really like your posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I needed that ending quote for sure. Man…I’m…I don’t know…; but thank you for reminding me of some things I’d quickly let slip from my mind in my delirium.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. angyjenks says:

    I so agree.. it was right on point..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

