Hope: Political ends and beginnings

“May your choices reflect your hopes, not your fears.” – Nelson Mandela

Bonus Quote: “When you turn an election into a three-ring circus, there’s always a chance the dancing bear will win.” – Nancy Isenberg

I had decided after the election, no matter who wins, that I was going to take a break from blogging. In a word, I am tired. Certainly, I had hoped to take a celebratory break but unfortunately that is not going to be the case.

To say that I am disappointed in the decision of 50% of the American people would be an understatement. I can’t say that I am totally shocked by the results, I knew it would be close, honestly I knew it would be very close, I had just hoped it would be very close the other way.

Last night I was angry. This morning I am no longer angry, just scared, my children are scared. They are scared because they have heard the words Trump has used. Scared because they have seen the actions Trump has encouraged. My job, and a job that I have taken very seriously over the last 26 years is to calm the fears of my children. At this moment, and based on recent encounters I have had with Trump supporters, I am at a loss of how to do that. I want nothing more than Donald Trump to prove me wrong. I want nothing more for myself, for you, and especially for our children for Donald Trump to make America great again. I will support that ideal anyway I can but never at the expense of others.

So what can we do? Hope for the best. Hope that the office changes the man. Hope that all the bluster and bullshit was simply an act to get elected. Hope that he can calm the tide of hate and anger he encouraged throughout the election process. Hope that he sees the terror and the fear in the eyes of some of the citizens of this great country and Hope that he doesn’t use it against them. Hope that he surrounds himself with smart and compassionate people who will leave their egos and personal agendas at the door. Hope that he truly heard the stories from the people who elected him. Hope that he realizes that it will take an uncommon man and an uncommon commitment to solve the problems of the common people of this country. Hope.

“Hope is being able to see that there is light despite all of the darkness.” – Desmond Tutu

 

 

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Hope: Political ends and beginnings

  1. Patty says:

    I will catch up on last weeks articles soon, but I wanted to let you know…I hope all that too.
    Not that he will read this, but Mr Trump: there is only one Mr. Legend and it ain’t you!
    Enjoy your well deserved break from blogging Mr. Legend and then please come back!
    XxX

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you, my friend, I HOPE you are right; however, as I sat on my front porch this morning drinking my coffee a car of locals drove by cussing and screaming at me. Today fear and sadness is all I have, not hope. Enjoy your break. I’ll miss your inspiration.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It would be easy for me to view this result as a dim light into the future, but I don’t because of my children, my nieces and nephews. They give me hope for a very bright future. A future that is more compassionate and less judgmental, that looks beyond race, religion and sexual orientation, that cares about the planet and respects our place in it and on it.

      Maybe this current revolution will plant the seeds of another that will move us forward rather than pulling us back. I believe it can and will. Always remember that “The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning.” – Ivy Baker Priest

      Peace & Blessings

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Patricia says:

    I spent the hours between 10 pm and 2:30 am this morning trying to comfort young and not so young LGBTQ’s and Muslims as they voiced their fear and desire to take their lives. I was able to talk them down from killing themselves but I could not comfort them. I could not say everything is going to be o.k. because I don’t feel it yet. I could not lie to them. They are angry and they are afraid for their very lives. Another thing they voiced is their anger at their parents for siding with Trump. They see it as a betrayal and feel that their parents sold them down the river.

    Liked by 2 people

    • What we just witnessed is a revolution. The LGBTQ community, the Muslim community, other marginalized communities, my children, our children, can all band together to create their own revolution. They have the numbers, they have the voice now they just need the confidence that they have the power. The biggest factor that they have on their side? Time, time is the great equalizer. All you have to do is outlive the opposition.

      We have seen the chink in the armor of the establishment, Trump exploited that chink and created a canyon. Others can too.

      Liked by 3 people

  4. Reblogged this on sherriemiranda1 and commented:
    I also am shocked, knowing that my country is soooo much more conservative than I realized. I didn’t cry tho & I also have HOPE that this man will stop the hateful speech that got him elected.
    Peace,
    Sherrie

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heri says:

    Good post. I posted a similar article today on hope and faith.
    Cheers,

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Will says:

    Hope demands work. In Carlin’s words, Hope is a soft word. A fuzzy feel good word. Times have changed. Sorry to disagree with your list of Hopes. The narrowly elected president does have the mental capacity or fortitude to navigate a course through his ideological AltRight leadership group.
    Surprising my thinking is that the Republican Congress and split Senate will all become the same party of NO they were with Obama. Want to do something. Remember the Mighty Mississippi starts has a small bubbling of groundwater. It becomes mighty has all that water in the middle join in its flow to the sea.
    Me? I’m an Antifa, Refugee Welcome Punk Soccer Ultra. Nothing Soft about that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Will, you can always disagree with every opinion or thought I have.That is your privilege and your right. Hope is a beginning, Hope is neutral, and Hope is an end. Hope is a place to start, work through, towards and finish. I will always have Hope and I hope you will as well.

      Like

  7. Belinda O says:

    I’m frightened, and shocked by the justification so many people used when voting for him. My faith is in God. God Bless America. I usually avoid overtly patriotic and religious statements because of the way they’re used by people whose beliefs I don’t sync with, but today I make an exception.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Have a nice break, brother; I’ll miss you. As far as Hope, mine lies in us, not in him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, that probably sums it up as nicely as anything I wrote. Headed for a long weekend of mountain biking in the hills with my wife. Going to pedal, eat, drink, repeat. Take care and as always, thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Peace & Blessings.

      Like

  9. Nan says:

    Noooooo! You can’t take a break! I just started following you and love your posts. 😦

    Seriously, do what you need to do. We’ll be here when you get back.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sadly, the 50% number is not accurate. Only about 50% of eligible voters vote so it is closer to about 25%. That doesn’t make me feel any better, esp. knowing that many don’t vote because they hate the way campaigns are run. If that’s true, they should vote for the candidates that ran clean campaigns, even if those people get less than 1% of the vote. Well, that MHO anyway!
    Peace,
    Sherrie
    Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador: http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
    Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P11Ch5chkAc 😉 ❤ 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sweeva says:

    “They say a person needs just three things to be truly happy in this world: someone to love, something to do, and something to hope for.”
    ― Tom Bodett

    Thank you for sharing this , just like that we soldier on !

    Like

  12. wendy says:

    I am stirred by your words, grateful for your sharing, heartbroken by our country, and hopeful. Hopeful that even if none of your hopes (which are my hopes too) come true, we will all come to better understand our own power. That we are the ones we have been waiting for. Love your quotes. Another great one from Victor Frankl: “What is to give light, must endure burning.”

    Liked by 1 person

  13. mwdunham says:

    My hope is that God is not hurt by my lack of faith personified by my response to the election. I fell into despair! How does someone who believes in the Omnipotent One ever fall into despair. I’m so grateful that I serve the One that has the last word in every situation and not how I or anyone else votes.
    BTW, 50% of Americans did not vote for Trump as too many of us did not vote. To me that means the real enemy is apathy. Now that’s scary!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would suspect though whether “we” voted or not, support, or alignment to a side was pretty much split down the middle. I can’t address your beliefs but I do think this could be just the spark the next generation needs to start their own revolution of love, compassion and inclusion. Time will tell. I hope I am here to see it. Blessings & Peace

      Like

  14. tracey says:

    Hello! I found your post on “hope” intriguing. My blog is not political, but I enjoyed reading your views, and the fact you maintain hope. The theme on my blog this week is “hope,” and your post was the the fourth hit on WordPress Reader when I searched the term “hope.” This makes your post #4 on my Top 5 Trending Tuesday post! Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

