All the News That’s Fit to Print

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Eight hours ago-@realDonaldTrump: I cancelled today’s meeting with the failing @nytimes when the terms and conditions of the meeting were changed at the last moment. Not nice

Seven hours ago-@realDonaldTrump: Perhaps a new meeting will be set up with the @nytimes. In the meantime they continue to cover me inaccurately and with a nasty tone!

Seven hours ago-@realDonaldTrump: The failing @nytimes just announced that complaints about them are at a 15 year high. I can fully understand that – but why announce?

Three hours ago-@realDonaldTrump: The meeting with the @nytimes is back on at 12:30 today. Look forward to it!

Once upon a time, newspapers ruled the world. In the City that I grew up in and the City that I have called home for thirty years there were two papers, a morning and afternoon, published Monday through Friday, and one published Saturday and Sunday morning all by the same company. Newspapers not only ruled the news they also ruled the advertising business. Yes, they were not only printing news they were also printing money.

In my City, the morning paper was the hard news; national, local and some type of investigative reporting every Sunday. The afternoon paper was soft news; sports, local attractions, reviews, columnist, and the society page. Each paper had their own news and editorial staff, same company but different papers with different objectives. I subscribed to both just like 95% of my neighbors did.

In 1995 the afternoon paper was discontinued, ending a 68 year run in my City. The morning paper picked up most of the slack but gone were the quirky columnist, restaurant reviews, little league scores, neighborhood news, and the society page. But that was a small change compared to what was coming…..the internet.

I no longer subscribe to our local paper, I haven’t for almost ten years. Their reporting and editorial staff has been cut to nothing. Hell they didn’t even endorse a presidential candidate this year. I am not convinced they had anyone around that even knew who was running. What staff they do have left appear to be first year journalism students at least that is my perception based on the stories I occasionally read online. They are no longer a source of advertising, classifieds or news for that matter. It has been a sad, slow, death to watch.

For any of you that have read any number of my post you know that I am news junkie. I count as my main “sources” of information NBC, MSNBC, USA Today, the Huffington Post and most importantly The New York Times. All, considered liberal news outlets by any good conservative.

It is very apparent, though not a huge surprise, that “we” (yes that leaves a very bitter taste in my mouth) have elected a very thin-skinned bully. I predict, crystal ball in hand, a very contentious relationship between the media and our new President for the next four years (only four if he isn’t impeached before hand). But the one positive that may come out of a Donald J. Trump presidency is the resurgences of the media as a reliable and trustworthy source of information and as a watchdog for the citizens of this country. We will need someone watching our back and I am sure the staff of the The New York Times is licking their lips, and puting fresh batteries in their recorders at this moment.  

As you can tell by the exchange above by our President-Elect with the happy fingers, the battle lines have already been drawn. I am confident that there is more fun to come, a lot more.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to All the News That’s Fit to Print

  1. Nan says:

    He so reminds me of a 10-year-old (or thereabouts). And to think there are those in our nation that think he’s just the grandest thing that’s ever come along!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lively Life says:

    And you don’t often turn down fun, do you?!
    Especially when it isn’t an option, I am certain. :p

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Never in my life has an election been so difficult to put behind me. And I refuse to wish harm come to DJT because then we would have Pence. Between a rock and a hard place here. Trump is just plain trash; Pence is hypocritical, self-righteous, walking, talking evil in a smooth façade.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: All the News That’s Fit to Print — Ends and Beginnings – Guinea Conakry Presidential Election 2020.

Leave a Reply

