The heavy price of hate

“I watched my son come into this world and watched my son leave this world.” – Felicia Sanders describing the death of her 26-year-old son, Tywanza Sanders one of nine people killed on June 17, 2015 at the Mother Emanuel A.M.E. Church in Charleston

June 17, 2015 was a very sad day for my home state, and a very sad day for me. Nine lives were senselessly murdered by a young man who had some delusional belief that his actions would start a race war. This man’s trial has begun I am anxious about what to expect.

I don’t want this man to become a martyr for hate groups across our nation like the man responsible for the Oklahoma City bombing that killed 168 people has. But I am not sure how we prevent that from happening. Would sentencing him to spend the rest of his life in prison cool the flames or does sentencing him to death provide more fuel to the hate fire?

But then I think about Felicia Sanders, a survivor of this horrible tragedy. A woman who lived through the carnage only to lose her son and friends. What sentence, what action would give her some semblance of closure if that is even possible?

For me, I could think of no worse fate than to spend the rest of my life in a ten by ten cell alone with my thoughts. Given that this man is only 22 years old it is conceivable that he could spend fifty plus years in prison until he dies of natural causes. There is a monetary cost to that though, estimated to be about $90,000 a year in today’s dollars. If he lived for fifty years we would spend in excess of $5,000,000 to house this prisoner for the rest of his life. Is he worth that?

I don’t get the sense that this man has any remorse for his actions. But honestly I didn’t expect any. He has already started playing games to try to create a spectacle of this trail, a circus and sadly I anticipate there will be more to come. He fancies himself a hero and unfortunately there is an ugly world out there, individuals and groups that agree.

I can’t and won’t ever understand what kind of monster lurks inside of this man, this child. Where did this hate come from? How did it grow? How does he close his eyes at night and not see the horror of his actions? I will wait, watch, pray and hope that there will be some sort of divine guidance for all the participants involved. The answers, if there are any, are simply beyond my capacity of reasoning.

“The hateful killing of nine people praying inside a church is a horrific reminder that, while we have made significant progress in advancing civil rights in this country, we are far from eradicating racism” – Sen. Bernie Sanders

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The heavy price of hate

  1. Justkate says:

    My thoughts and questions, exactly. Well said. He’s another of those freaks of nature and nurture that has no conscience, no ounce of empathy for other human beings…Lots of research on this which might be helpful to read if we really need to understand the why, research along the lines of “inside the minds of sociopaths”…chilling!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suze says:

    A friend of mine died that day, in his church. He preached about love…just love.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. manqindi says:

    The death penalty would solve a lot of problems. Racism is expression of hate by people frustrated by their place in society; wife beaters are the in the same mould: frustrated by their own inadequacies.
    Modern life promotes the display of the most desirable things man can want, yet the attainment of these things is almost impossible for most people: no wonder there are high frustration levels. Restrict advertising pressure, moderate the media.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am not sure I can agree with you about the death penalty. Hasn’t seemed to work to deter people from killing each other. I do agree with this: “Modern life promotes the display of the most desirable things man can want, yet the attainment of these things is almost impossible for most people.” Restricting advertising won’t fix that, better education, better job opportunities (which goes along with education), identifying and treating people with mental illness, might.

      Like

  4. Patty says:

    Always a huge dilemma in my mind…death penalty versus lifetime in prison…
    Who are we to judge, be we have to…
    An eye for an eye?
    Nope, can’t figure out this kid either, but what the right punishment should be neither…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

