Getting my ass kicked by the flu

Our bodies are touchy little creatures. They like to be warm and dry and are very picky about what we eat and drink. They like sleep and rest and certainly have their own special way of letting us know when they aren’t getting enough of either. But do we listen? No. We eat too much, we drink too much. Some of us even fill our lungs with smoke, on purpose! We abuse our bodies, watch our ass get wider and then wonder why our bodies fail us.

There are some things we can do to help our bodies remain healthy and strong, but sometimes we just get sick. I am currently experiencing one of those sometimes right now.

Saturday morning, Christmas-eve, my wife, my daughter and I decided to do a short 40 mile bicycle ride north, over hill-and-dale, up in the foothills. From the minute I clipped my feet into the pedals I didn’t have it, no energy, nothing. I knew I was in for a long morning ride given the company I was in, riding with my child who competes in half Ironman’s. Something was wrong but I just chalked it up to holiday merriment.

Christmas morning I did a three-mile walk with my other daughter. Same deal, no energy, slow, sweating on a cold day. Now I was getting worried. And then Christmas night, on the three-hour drive back home, BAM! No it was more like BAM, kick in the nuts, BAM! I was sick.

I put away my foolish, rub some dirt on it, manly pride years ago. When I get sick I go to the Doctor. After several attempts at near pneumonia and getting my ass kicked by strep throat, or bronchitis I waved the I am a wimpy old man white flag and make the appointment. My wife doesn’t even have to brow beat me anymore, I know that at 56 years old two aspirin and a couple of cold beers no longer cures what it used to cure. Okay, so that was the cure for a hangover but it felt like it helped other stuff too.

So I got the flu according to my Doctor that looks like he got his driver’s license and medical degree at the same ceremony. Drugs and rest, water not beer are the prescription. I guess if I had to be sick this is as good a time as any to be sick. There is probably a football game or twenty I can watch between now and when I need to go back to work, C-L-E-M-S-O-N, fight Tigers, fight Tigers, fight, fight, fight just to name one.

Happy New Year to my WordPress friends, take care of yourself and your bodies, it’s the only one you get.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Getting my ass kicked by the flu

  1. Oh no- I hate being ill…plenty of fluids, increase your vitamin C intake and raw ginger if you can stomach it…capsules if you can’t. ( It’s a natural antibiotic and helps the immune system) Hope you’re feeling better soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nan says:

    Yuk. Being sick sucks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. threebrits says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lively Life says:

    HaH! At ‘ I decided to do a short 40 mile bicycle ride ‘. and where doc obtained his degree from. and the hangover cure put me further into giggledom !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. To a speedy recovery and a Happy 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Just don’t puke in the New Year. (at least, not from the flu)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. samdfb1 says:

    Yikes. Get well soon. Tea with honey and lemon should do the trick…and rest. Plenty of rest. Yup.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Patty says:

    By now I hope you were able to go to work again, being your happy self.
    While I are dealing with day three of the flu..Yesterday I watched a documentary about the Roling Stones, that made me feel a bit less sorry for myself, haha
    Happy New Year dear Mr. Legend!
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

