Bread and milk

snow

Snow is in our forecast. The run on bread and milk in my city has begun.

Snow in the south is, at best, a joke to those of you that live an area that measure it in feet rather than inches. It is supposed to start snowing Friday late, maybe into Saturday and then sunny Sunday with a high of 36. By the end of the week it should be a balmy 60 degrees. But that chance, that ever so slight possibility that will we will get snow, one inch to a foot (keep dreaming), is enough for folks in my community to make a mad dash to the store and stock-up on bread and milk. Why? After thirty-five years I just don’t have an answer for you.

I love snow but I like when it comes for a day or two and then disappears. I have zero, zip interest in living in a region where snow hangs around for the entire winter and into spring. For those of you who do get to experience the joys of months of cold and snow God bless you, there is room for you here. The older I get the less I like to be cold and wet and snow affords both of those. I like what we get and how we get it, end of story.

I went to college in the mountains of North Carolina and had my fill of days and weeks of snow. Likewise, I worked at a ski resort in college and had my fill of skiing. I have a child in Colorado and my hope is she will return to the sunny south when she gets tired of five degree temperatures and the white stuff she is slogging through today. When she sends me pictures of her car covered in snow I send her pictures of me in shorts. Mean? I know, but I want her to move closer to home.

Last year we had a very rare and unusual occurrence, four solid days of snow. My wife and I actually ran out of bread and milk. We also ran out of patience staring at each other so we made the two-mile trek to the store. What we discovered is what is forgotten by many empty-nesters, children having the time of their life in a winter wonderland. Sledding, snowball fights, snowmen, snow angels, and a landscape crisp and clean as only a blanket of fresh white snow can offer.

I don’t expect much more than a dusting. Just enough to send everyone into a panic. The front is coming from the north-west which, in years past, is typically broken up by the mountain range to our west. Now if it were coming byway of the Gulf of Mexico through Atlanta that would be a different story. I am not a meteorologist but I have stayed at a Holiday Inn if you were wondering.

If it hits I am ready. We have plenty of bread, milk, cereal, soup, dog food, wine and beer to last until Tuesday or so. Even if it hangs around a little longer than that we will be okay. We won’t need to resort to barbecuing one of the dogs or even my wife’s cat though I do have a wonderful recipe for sweet and sour cat. Just kidding, let it snow.

“Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.” – John Ruskin

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bread and milk

  1. I grew up in Colorado and the first opportunity I got to come south, I took it, and ran away to Atlanta. It has snowed here though EVERY year since I’ve lived here and granted, it is not the ridiculous amounts I grew up knowing, but good grief, at least in Colorado people aren’t thrown into an absolute, End of the World, frenzy.

    I also don’t understand the bread and milk deal, but oh well. I will dutifully swing through the grocery store this evening to stock up on “supplies” for “Snowpocalypse 2017- the early edition”. lol…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. William Tell says:

    OMG, you didn’t mention toilet paper.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nan says:

    A 48-hour snow event just ended yesterday at my location (So. Oregon). Accumulation reports range from 18″ to 24.” We’re probably around 18″, but our house is surrounded by trees so it’s difficult to get an exact measurement. One thing is for certain … we probably have at least 24 large tree limbs to clean up once the snow melts!

    We do get snow most every winter, but usually no more than 2″ to 3″ — so this storm was a doozy!

    Fortunately, we had plenty of bread and milk. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

