Thin skin and a fake tan

“When growing up, I saw segregation. I saw racial discrimination. I saw those signs that said white men, colored men. White women, colored women. White waiting. And I didn’t like it.” –  U.S. Representative John Lewis

Congressman John Lewis spoke his mind; “I believe in forgiveness. I believe in trying to work with people, but it’s going to be very difficult. I don’t see this president-elect as a legitimate president. I think the Russians participated in helping this man get elected and they helped destroy the candidacy of Hillary Clinton.”

Then our President-elect fired back with his thumbs (tweet); “Congressman John Lewis should spend more time on fixing and helping his district, which is in horrible shape and falling apart (not to mention crime infested) rather than falsely complaining about the election results. All talk, talk, talk – no action or results. Sad!”

thin-skinned (thĭn′skĭnd′)- Oversensitive, especially to criticism or insult.

For any of you that don’t know Congressman John Lewis’s history read here: Wikipedia. This is a man who not only fought but bleed for the rights of others. He speaks his mind, he has earned the right to speak his mind. He bares the scars of speaking his mind. This is a man who has been beaten, and had rocks and bottles thrown at him all in the name of justice. In a word, he is a saint, a national treasure who stood arm in arm with Martin Luther King Jr., James Farmer, Philip Randolph, Roy Wilkins and Whitney Young. Yes, he has earned the right to speak his mind and share his opinion.

“There comes a time when you have to say something, when you have to make a little noise, when you have to move your feet. This is the time. Now is the time to get in the way. The time to act is now. We will be silent no more.” – U.S. Representative John Lewis

I am sure Trump’s basket of deplorables find their saviors tweets cute. They view them as standing up for yourself and holding other people accountable for their remarks. They love that he comes out swinging rather than backing down. But honestly, how much “swing” is there in a tweet? The distance is pretty safe when your battles are fought in a 140 characters in an ivory tower. Can you imagine him marching from Selma to Montgomery and having an Alabama state trooper try to beat his head in on the Edmund Pettus Bridge, scars John Lewis still bears? I didn’t think so.

Here is hoping North Korea’s supreme leader Kim Jong-un never gets a Twitter account. It could get ugly and dangerous will quick.

“I was so inspired by Dr. King that in 1956, with some of my brothers and sisters and first cousins – I was only 16 years old – we went down to the public library trying to check out some books, and we were told by the librarian that the library was for whites only and not for colored. It was a public library.” – U.S. Representative John Lewis

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thin skin and a fake tan

  1. Trump has finessed the art of throwing insults and blows from the safety of his penthouse palaces. Many other cowards and egomaniacs like him do the same because there is no fear of physical reprisal. In the ole days guys like him would get a thrashing. Let’s face it….this man is a thin-skinned, silver spooned, momma’s boy who never grew up. Enjoy the inauguration. I, for one, will be on bended knee begging for miracles

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Suze says:

    I grew up with the signs..and got arrested for bringing a friend to a bowling alley with me. well it wasn’t really for just bringing her, but that was the catalyst…and this supposedly AFTER desegregation. She was ordered out, I stood up and challenged the adults trying to force her out, swung on the manager when he put his hands on her. Not the most rational move of my life but the one I am proudest of regardless.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. mwdunham says:

    My dad was in the Greensboro sit ins as a NC A&T college student. With this guy going to the White House, I feel like I’m sitting right beside him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

