Whose toes am I stepping on now

toes

Apparently I have been stepping on a few toes lately. Trump supporters, those are easy ones. They have such big ultra sensitive feet. Christians or maybe just religion in general, well since I consider myself a Christian Universalist with a Buddhist tint I guess I might be stepping on my own toes as well.

Here is the thing oh dear readers of mine, I am a thinker, a ponderer, a reader of books and people. I watch situations unfold and wonder about the direction they are headed. I am an emotional guy, I hurt for people both real and imaginary. I defend the little guy, the voiceless, the marginalized. I despise bullies and people who think they have all the answers, some magic pill of enlightenment that they try to force feed the masses. And then, I write about it, I get it off my chest and begin my search for something else to ponder.

Now at this stage in my blogging life, eleven months in, I have 1,157 followers, I have posted 400 articles, and average about 185 to 200 views a day. I am not bragging just stating some basic facts. My “likes” are not reflective of my views so I know I am not everyone’s cup of tea. I have a handful of hardcore followers, people who read and typically comment on most everything I post. They are the ones that keep me moving forward. As I have said from the very beginning when I feel like I am simply talking to myself I will shut this down. I have a couple of critics who ebb and flow between agreeing with me on some stuff and taking me to task on others. They aren’t assholes about it and they don’t flood my inbox with endless 20 paragraph comments. Their thoughts are concise and on point and I really appreciate having them in my little blog universe. They keep me honest. And then I have the people who feel the need to have a battle of wits with me. People who seemingly know everything there is to know about <fill in the topic here> and want to dazzle me with their brilliance. These exchanges typically don’t end well primarily because I get bored. It simply becomes the same old shit with a different ribbon on top.

You see dear readers you are dealing with a man with ADD. I have the attention span of a gerbil. My little brain process is simple, I see, I read, I feel something that interest me, and then I get all wound about it. I may sleep on it, and let it stew. I may wake up at 2 am and make notes. I do a little research to make sure I am not overreacting and then I pound it out on the keyboard with two fingers, and hope the spelling is close (I already know the grammar sucks). I click the blue Publish button and carry on to the next topic.

I try my best not to be rude or condescending to people. Unfortunately there are some out there that can only communicate that way. I have the mental capacity to be an A-1 asshole when I need to be but my preference is not to cross that bridge. Fortunately I have the technical expertise to delete comments that I don’t find appropriate or on point. I can control the output and I would prefer not to control the input but sometimes I have too.

I enjoy doing this, sharing my thoughts, my opinions, my likes and dislikes. It is a good exercise for me, a release if you will. I like writing, I wish I was better at it, and I aspire to do more with this semi-skill. WordPress figures they have 74,652,825 blogs floating around the universe. If that is the case that means I am taking up .00000001% of the space available. Thanks for sharing that space with me or you have 74,652,824 other blogs out there that might be willing to let you dazzle them with your brilliance when you become frustrated with my one evolution above a rock intellect. Peace.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Whose toes am I stepping on now

  1. Hmmmmm…those toes sure are…..mmmm…delightfully manicured. Not yours, are they? I love toes…stepping on them, that is. LOL

    Liked by 2 people

  2. etherealbeingsinmylife says:

    I know the feeling. I shut down my last blog because of this. I started a new one in December in the hopes that it goes better. Do not worry if you are stepping on toes. So what if you are? You are entitled to your own perspective, opinions, knowings, beliefs, etc, etc. just as everyone else is. This is your blog and you can write whatever you want on it. It does not matter what others think. I, for one, enjoy reading your blog posts.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Suze says:

    If you aren’t making people think and evaluate their own thought processes, making them FEEL something whether positive or negative……..then what is the point? You have some posts that make me want to take up arms and go conquer the idiots of the world, placing them in a sort of protected custody.basically lockdown so they can’t emote. You have some that make me cheer you on. don’t let the idiots mess with you.

    Liked by 5 people

  4. (as you drop the mic and walk off stage to a round of applause) Amen, dude…amen :-).

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Keep on stompin’!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. mwdunham says:

    Keep moving forward

    Liked by 2 people

  7. William Tell says:

    I’m so jealous. I wish I were getting lots of nasty comments!

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Patty says:

    Mister Legend, this quote came to mind “If you can’t handle the truth, don’t ask me to be honest”. Don’t know the original ‘quot-er’, but I think this describes you perfectly. So, please keep sharing us your truth! Since most of the time, it is my truth also 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

