A letter to my Senators

I didn’t vote for President Trump. Honestly, I didn’t vote for you either, but you are my representative and for that I thank you for your service to our state and our country.

As I am sure you are aware, there is a great divide in our nation. The divide was there prior to President Trump’s election and it was the reason, part and parcel, that he was elected. It is for hard this blue speck (me) in a red state to truly know the pulse of the rest of this country. I do know that our President did not win the popular vote so it is difficult for me to believe that he speaks for nearly as many citizens as he would like for us to believe that he does.

I realize that you and I are on opposite political spectrums but I imagine we share some common ground, namely, we both want to create a safe and sustainable country for this and future generations. I have children, young adults, that I want nothing more than their happiness, health and safety. Simple hopes and dreams of a father.

“Do to others whatever you would like them to do to you. This is the essence of all that is taught in the law and the prophets.” – Matthew 7:12

If you think about it if “we the people” simply followed this directive from Jesus most of our conflicts with each other would dissipate.

I want the best healthcare available for my children. We should want that for every child. I want the best economic opportunities for my children. We should want that for everyone. If I lived in Syria or Mexico I would do everything possible to protect my family. We should understand and accept that of every father. I want my children to have the best educational opportunities. We should want that for every person. I want my family to feel safe and secure when they go to the Mall, or to the movies or if they are standing outside their front door. We should want that for every family. I want my children to be treated with respect, without fear of retaliation because of their color, sex, religion, nationality, or sexual orientation. We should want that for every human being. I want my children to have dreams, dreams that are attainable because we live in a country that encourages dreamers. We should want that for every dreamer.

Right now there are too many words being spoken of hate, intolerance, and fear. These aren’t words of growth, these are words that keep us down, running for cover and fighting amongst ourselves. Empathy, compassion and love will grow this nation and give our children the space and the hope to dream.

I have never felt this fearful and insecure about the direction our country seems to be headed in as I do right now. Things feel very unstable and I understand change is inevitable, and some change can be good. But change for the sake of appeasing a small group of people, change that mask the real issues and the real problems we are facing will never solve anything other than creating more uncertainty and more fear. We need more than brash words, and twitter responses right now. We need real leadership and positive actions, a view from out our windows, from our streets, our cubicles rather than a big picture view 20,000 feet above us. I ask that you work to make sure everyone is included in that picture and to make sure the view is wider than a political party or an ideology.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A letter to my Senators

  1. Very eloquent, heartfelt plea. I hope it doesn’t fall on deaf ears.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nan says:

    Might try calling.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great letter, well written. Many years ago, in the 1990s they changed the definition of privacy to accommodate the government’s needs for spying on its citizens. Now Kellyanne is challenging the definition of truth. What’s next? Ahhh, the swamps are calling for me. Can you hear them?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patty says:

    Maybe you should send it in here too: https://www.obama.org/your-voice/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

