Trump doesn’t speak or act for me

john-rock-2

I needed to climb. I needed to get above all the bullshit coming out of Washington if just for an hour or two. 1,000 feet of climbing to the top of John Rock in the Pisgah National Forest. There is no cell service in the middle of 513,000 acres just wind, clouds and today, snow.

I watched all the news programs this Sunday morning and got depressed and embarrassed for our country. I decided it was time to walk, time to get above the clouds and escape.

The John Rock Loop is a moderately difficult five mile hike. The terrain is rough and the climb is steep. I am not built for climbing or pedaling up hill but I am the king of coming downhill. But here is the thing, to get to the top for the view I have shared above, you got to do the work and climb.

This weekend, our new President decided that people, people from certain countries, people of a certain religion, people who had been in this country, who had been doing the work and who have been trying to climb above their circumstances weren’t welcome in my country. He made this proclamation with the stroke of a pen and smirk.

I am embarrassed for this country, my country. I am embarrassed that we would elect such a callous, and egotistical individual as President to lead this country. A man who causes pain for others with a smirk, a pen and a photo opp. A man that other countries, other citizens of the world believe speaks for me. He doesn’t and he won’t.

I am certain, over the next four years, I will be spending many hours on top of John Rock to find some peace, some comfort, to recharge my soul and to remember that Donald Trump is just one man and thank God not every man or every woman in this great country.

“Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it doesn’t matter with me now. Because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind. Like any man, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people will get to the promised land. And I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Trump doesn’t speak or act for me

  1. Great quote from MLK Jr. I sure miss the mountains. Solidarity, brother. Together we are bigger than this asshole. “Mine eyes have seen the glory”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mwdunham says:

    There’s so much happening at once! He’s doing all kinds of bullshit outside of the ban but it’s hard to keep up with it all or tend to wounds before another insult comes. My faith is being stretched like never before and I need to head to Amazon to get some knee pads for all the praying. My other escape is hot yoga. I hope I don’t dehydrate.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patty says:

    The way I see it..Don’t be ashamed on behalf of other idiots. You didn’t vote for Trump, you warned people before election day, you are wise enough to not say ‘I told you so’ and now you resist – in your own way – with all the other people all over the world (not just in the USA).
    Go climb that mountain (good for your health), breath in at the top and come down mentally refreshed to keep on fighting.
    Never ever feel shame my dear Mr. Legend!
    XxX

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I just hope his pile of BS doesn’t get as tall as your mountain retreat. 😬

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

