Franklin Graham’s groundhog day

For eight years, eight long years, President Obama has blocked the “son”, blocked his brand of mean-spirited Christianity. But Franklin Graham was confident his day, the day of reckoning was coming. Sitting on his mountain top in North Carolina, using Facebook and Twitter as his tablets of stone, Franklin did just enough in those eight years to keep his name on the lips of those Fox News viewers he longed to shepherd. And now, the payoff, his wait is over. Franklin Graham’s groundhog day has arrived and if you ask him, not a moment too soon.

I could come up with all sorts of crude analogies about which orifice Franklin poked his head out of and felt the sun shining on his face but I will leave that to your imagination. In any event, Franklin’s day has arrived and he plans on making hay while the sun is shining. He has souls to save, doom to proclaim and he has the perfect foil for his message, a man who loves brands and marketing as much as he does.

“It will only be “Doomsday” for those who haven’t accepted God’s gift of salvation. Are you ready?” – Franklin Graham Tweet 1-28-17

Franklin’s brand of Christianity, at least in my mind, is very different from his father’s, the legendary Billy Graham. There is a hard edge to Franklin’s religion, filled with arrogance, and ego, pridefulness, and a sincere lack of compassion and heart for those on the outside looking in. And though he was non-committal to Trump in the beginning, and seemingly all the way up to the election, he is all in now. He grabbed a handful of chips and has hooked his wagon on to the Trump star. Honestly I couldn’t think of a more appropriate person that, hopefully, Franklin will ride out into the sunset with.

Lest you be confused, I am not a fan of Franklin Graham or his brand of Christianity (Post #1, Post #2, Post #3, & Post #4). His greater than though, self-serving attitude fits very nicely with Trumps steamroller antics. When Franklin proclaims that he has no problem with Trump’s Muslim ban because it is “not a Bible issue” it solidifies for me that Franklin and I are reading two different bibles; “The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God” – Leviticus 19:34  

On Franklin’s Facebook “stone tablet” he takes exception with the scientist who have moved the “Doomsday Clock” 30 seconds closer to midnight because of the statements President Trump has made about the use of nuclear weapons and his lack of recognition or concern about our climate and environmental matters. Franklin’s response; “in the last days there will come times of difficulty. For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power”- 2 Timothy 3:1-5.

So let me ask you, if you were to grab a few words out of the sky that you felt described our current President would any of these come into play; lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit? Yea, that’s what I thought.

Franklin Graham has sold his soul and for what, a little time in the sun, a few moments to step out of the very long shadow his father cast? Yes, this is Franklin Graham’s groundhog day and I pray that it will be a very short run, exactly four years, and then he can crawl back into whatever Fox News, doomsday hole he came out of and wait for the moment he needs to explain the pocketful of Trump chips he is holding.

“Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.”- Matthew 25:45

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Franklin Graham’s groundhog day

  1. I think often of the verse from Leviticus. Unfortunately, Graham and his name brand represent those who forget to apply a heart covered with Jesus to their interpretations. Thanks. Great post. May I repost it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mwdunham says:

    I too feel he’s different from his dad. Even though I was never a big fan of him either I’d prefer him to his son. I’m amazed at his hatefulness but I do equate evangelicals as the new klan. So maybe I shouldn’t be so shocked. My husband’s conservative side of the family is attracted to him like flies to shit.
    Your reference to Matthew 25 is interesting. It’s been on my mind lately especially verses 31-46 and I’ve asked God about it in prayer. Is this the season of separating sheep and goats?

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I really wonder what his father – probably the most honorable, decent, compassionate man to walk among us – must think of his son. Clearly, this apple fell a LONG way from the tree.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Gina Marie says:

    To me (and to be clear, I am stealing this from the Apostle Paul), when we focus on sin, sin is magnified. But Christ told us to focus on loving God and loving others. All the laws and the prophets hang on those two things. Franklin, as you’ve shown, doesn’t really seem to follow the Bible or, perhaps, has a different translation with totally different directives. Alas, in this politicized country where religion is used to promote agendas, Franklin is just doing what too many church leaders have done – whore out faith. It is sad.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. etherealbeingsinmylife says:

    I love how you use bible verses to prove the bible thumpers wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

