The people that matter

I have lived in my community since 1986. In those 31 years the area has almost doubled in size. Years ago, when we ventured out, we could expect to run into at least one or two people that we knew. But for the last couple of years that hasn’t been the case.

My wife and I have “toyed” with the idea of buying a recreational vehicle, an RV, that we can camp in and ride our bicycles. The reason we have just “toyed” with the idea is because we don’t have any play money to buy such an expensive toy.

To promote this “if I win the lottery dream” we went to the RV show last month at the convention center. Yes, we saw exactly what we would spend our disposable $95,000 on. But what we didn’t see was anyone that we knew at the show.

A couple of years ago a Columbia College researcher estimated that the average American knows about 600 people. Of these 600 people the researchers concluded that most Americans know just 10 to 25 people well enough to say they trust them. In my mind there is a huge gap between knowing and trusting. I see familiar faces at the store all the time but it certainly doesn’t mean that I trust them or that I know their name for that matter.

I used to believe I knew a lot of people. When I was on the session at my church many years ago I took pride in the fact that I could greet the majority of my fellow members by name when I had door duty. Today, I bet I know less than 20% of the members. What has changed? The common denominator is me.

We have an old desktop computer, one the kids used years ago and one that doesn’t get turned on very often. I was searching for a couple of pictures but decided to open my old Outlook contacts page for shits and giggles. What I discovered are people I used to know ten years ago. Some had moved, some had died, and others I had no clue what had happened to them. Granted, some of these were business contacts from my previous life but in this list of 500 people I knew very little about the whereabouts of most of them.

Yes, the common denominator is me. For the people who I have lost, I haven’t replaced them. For the people I used to know, I haven’t kept up with them. I am sure there is some deep psychological meaning to all of this but I have neither the interest or the desire in exploring it. In the end, a handful of people who matter will mourn my passing just as a handful of people rejoiced in my birth.

“I find it wholesome to be alone the greater part of the time. To be in company, even with the best, is soon wearisome and dissipating. I love to be alone. I never found the companion that was so companionable as solitude.” – Henry David Thoreau  

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The people that matter

  1. Nan says:

    Henry and I would get along well. If we spent any time together, that is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. manqindi says:

    No man is an island. Maybe we seek only those who won’t disagree with us? I too revel in my solitude and semi-feign amazement and rustic horror at the busyness of urban life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ericstrong51 says:

    I don’t know what culture it is that when you say ‘hello’ to a new friend it is also the word for ‘goodbye’. It’s a certainty that there’s a goodbye in every hello. Maybe the word is Aloha? I forget. Anyway…Goodbye!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As I age, solitude seems to be my most welcome companion. The rest of the world is too noisy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patty says:

    I remember my brother used to have many ‘friends’ and I always just had a few.
    Today he still has many ‘friends’, but can’t rely on any of them and I still have a few, for who I would jump through fire and they for me. Quality seems to be always so much more important then quantity…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Will says:

    I live by a quote from a Richard Bach. True friends will know us more in a few minutes than others will in a lifetime. Illusions is one of my desert island books.Being an only child of older parents, my choices have been towards a more personal journey than one of a joiner. Has different chapters in my life close, it seems travel was involved. My old coffee house public living room changed over time. One by one those people that were more fixtures in the cloth of the place moved on. So did I when my circumstances changed. It was no longer a comfortable place to pause from the world. I found my chosen pace of living allows those of like minds easier to find. Change is a blessing and curse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

