The Power of Stupid-Trump and his supporters

“Thank you for all of the nice statements on the Press Conference yesterday. Rush Limbaugh said one of greatest ever. Fake media not happy!” – Donald J. Trump tweet 2-17-17

So I was sitting here staring at a blank computer screen trying to figure out how to sum up what I was feeling about our President and his supporters. But I still comeback to one question, the same question I have had since November the 8th, what I am missing?

As I watched our President’s “performance” yesterday these are the words that came to my mind; bully, idiot, crazy, buffoon, moron, joke, insane, unhinged, unbalanced, unstable, and deranged And these were some of the words his supporters used in tweets I read after his “performance”; great, refreshing, amazing, superb, truthful, humorous, awesome, fun, kicked ass, and giddy. 

Here is just a small sample of what Trump’s supporters tweeted;

this was an amazing news conference @CNN aka VERY FAKE NEWS is so stunned, crying trying2 save ass embarrassed Luv my President

President Trump’s was so refreshing after 8 “TelePrompTer ” years!

yep, the MSM (Main Stream Media) ship is certainly sink fast & the rats can’t bail fast enough. #MEGA

The President was great! He gave the dishonest media fits and I loved it! Put miners back to work too! #MAGA

What am I missing? At first I thought the gap between me and the Trump supporters was simply an ideology divide, conservatives vs. liberals. Now I firmly believe it is an intellectual gorge. What else could it be? They saw the same “performance” that I saw yesterday. What did they see that I didn’t?

“Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.” – George Carlin

There I said it, well no George Carlin said it. I really didn’t want to admit this to myself but what we are experiencing is the “Power of Stupid”. There can be no other explanation. I know a lot of these stupid people. On the outside they look smart. They drive fancy cars, live in big houses and have all of the trappings of success and intelligence. But something is missing, some chromosome, some strand of DNA that propels them into blubbering idiots when they see, hear, touch or smell Donald J. Trump.

Yes we are in the throes of the “Power of Stupid” and I blame laziness, iPhone’s, Facebook, Instagram, Rush Limbaugh, Fox and Friends, and Steve Bannon. People have turned off their brains. The world is about appearances, selfies and likes. There is no depth, everything we believe or accept is floating on the surface or can be summed up in 140 characters. Our attention spans run in sixty-second increments, read the headline and scan, headline, and scan.

The “Power of Stupid” has found its King, an orange man who cut his teeth on creating alt-realities. Baffle them with bullshit, and spoon feed them with the logic their simple minds can absorb. Sum it up, say it loud enough and often enough and they will eat it off the floor again and again or as Vladimir Lenin stated, “A lie told often enough becomes the truth”.

Want to do a little history reading? Explore what the Bolshevik Revolution was all about in Russia, a populist revolt against the intellectuals. I am not contending we are headed for a communist regime, but there were a lot of plays in that playbook.

“Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.” – Mark Twain  

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Power of Stupid-Trump and his supporters

  1. William Tell says:

    The gulf is not intellectual, but emotional. People will regard as fact whatever they want to believe.
    In the below post, I make the point that “we’re all continually connecting the dots,” seeking to make sense of the innumerable data our senses provide every second. HOW anyone connects the dots depends on one’s emotional posture. WHICH dots one connects — which ones one can even SEE — likewise depends on one’s emotional posture.
    So to some extent “they” may be connecting dots “we” cannot even see, and vice versa.
    http://williamatell.wordpress.com/belief-the-unforgivable-sin.
    The subsequent post is related:
    http://williamatell.wordpress.com/rationalism-cannot-save-us.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. If the news media is “fake,” how can they react in the first place? Hmmm. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My friend, there has been a bumper sticker around for many years. “FOX NEWS, the dumbing down of America” Well, the dumbing appears to be complete. I merely await the revolution, the resurgence of intelligence, and return of civility. Until then, my aerie high in the jungle trees awaits me. Hey, maybe someone will write a book about me swinging from tree to tree. It could be a classic…..are you available?
    On a serious note. We would not be having this conversation if Evangelicals had voted their so-called Christian conscience instead of their egotistical, religionist theology based on a ludicrous interpretation of scriptures as inerrant and infallible words of god.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Suze says:

    I am becoming annoyed with you. Yes, I am. I mentioned George Carlin just a moment ago on an earlier blog post of yours and kablammo here it is in all it’s glory and you did it first! Always a day late and a dollar short here…oh well, back to creating a messy backyard. At least i can see progress when I clean it up again..unlike any progress we are making towards getting an administration of wit, brains, empathy and conscience.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. wyldbore says:

    The fact that you’re not even trying to understand is why you don’t.

    Like

    • And some deep rhetorical bullshit from you doesn’t get me any closer to knowing. Honestly I can only assume you don’t either.

      Liked by 1 person

      • wyldbore says:

        I’m not sure my comment was deep rhetorical bullshit. Or even plain old rhetorical bullshit. Bullshit maybe though. My observation stands: if you were honesty in attempting to understand the reason Trump’s base supports him, you would look at what he did, not what he said or how he sounded. You would see that he talks like your after dad, unscripted, full of exaggeration, but passionate, unrehearsed, real. You’d see that he took on the media (which the public trusts less than the government, according to a new poll) and owned them in ways the average man doesn’t get to in real life. You’d see that the era of the heralded intellectual president has passed, that people care more about results than rhetoric. You could see this, and you could judge it for being stupid–there are arguments to be made for why the conservative base is uneducated or wrong on policies, or whatever else–but you’re not trying to have that conversation. You’re just throwing out words–“bully, idiot, crazy, buffoon, moron, joke, insane, unhinged, unbalanced, unstable, and deranged”–which, beyond being unoriginal (they’ve been said ad nauseam for the past two years) actually show that you don’t want to understand what happened in the election, and what’s happening still. Which is your fault. It’s the Left’s fault. And it’s why the Left is not gaining traction with the constant blind criticism.

        I’m trying to have a conversation. Demonstrate your maturity.

        Like

        • “My observation stands:” This was you observation “The fact that you’re not even trying to understand is why you don’t.” My observation stands as well, deep rhetorical bullshit.

          “if you were honesty in attempting to understand the reason Trump’s base supports him, you would look at what he did, not what he said or how he sounded.” Well so far he hasn’t “did” anything that I can tell so what has he “did” for you?

          “You would see that he talks like your after dad, unscripted, full of exaggeration, but passionate, unrehearsed, real.” No, he does not talk like my Dad. I am sure you love your Dad but we obviously had very different Dad’s.

          “You’d see that he took on the media (which the public trusts less than the government, according to a new poll) and owned them in ways the average man doesn’t get to in real life.” I understand that this is the Kool-Aid many of the Trump supporters are drinking. Show me the new poll, better yet, show me the demographics of the new poll and that will tell the real story. As an aside: “My statement as to what’s happening in Sweden was in reference to a story that was broadcast on @FoxNews concerning immigrants & Sweden.” Trump Tweet today. Let’s be clear, there is one media outlet that Trump and his supporters trust and why is that?

          “You’d see that the era of the heralded intellectual president has passed, that people care more about results than rhetoric.” It is funny how short people’s memories are. Remember what kind of financial mess this country was in 8 years ago when President Obama came into office. Eight years later you and I got the results (not the rhetoric) of him cleaning up the mess and Donald J. Trump is like the second string quarterback coming in at the end of the fourth quarter when the game is already won.

          “You could see this, and you could judge it for being stupid–there are arguments to be made for why the conservative base is uneducated or wrong on policies, or whatever else–but you’re not trying to have that conversation.” A conversation isn’t a one sentence obtuse statement like “The fact that you’re not even trying to understand is why you don’t.”

          “You’re just throwing out words–“bully, idiot, crazy, buffoon, moron, joke, insane, unhinged, unbalanced, unstable, and deranged”–which, beyond being unoriginal (they’ve been said ad nauseam for the past two years) actually show that you don’t want to understand what happened in the election, and what’s happening still. Which is your fault.” These are the words that came to MY MIND when I heard him. That others have used these same words to describe him tells me “If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck”

          “It’s the Left’s fault. And it’s why the Left is not gaining traction with the constant blind criticism.” I congratulate you for being able to at least write as many words as you did before you got down to your true colors, it’s the LEFT, it’s always about the left and right. If you will take the time and the brain cells to read what I have written you will find that I don’t lean on that left/right crutch. Honestly I don’t give a shit about the left or right I am firmly in the middle, and there is a happy place in the middle. This country moves to far in both direction and then we over correct. Sadly, Trump is a poor choice for this over correction and Pence is an off the edge correction.

          “I’m trying to have a conversation. Demonstrate your maturity.” There you go, mature enough for you? Oh and again, a conversation is more than a single sentence next time you try to engage someone.

          Liked by 1 person

          • wyldbore says:

            In a month, Trump has done quite a bit (travel ban, pipelines, the repeal of Obama’s transgendered bathroom order, officially killing the TPP, nomination of a Supreme Court Justice) all of which receive more support than disdain from Americans. That aside, I was, as you know, talking about Trump’s speech, and what he “did” in the speech, which I explained. You’re a literalist, which I appreciate, but a seemingly angry one who, at least as evidenced by this response, purposely plays ignorant. Obviously I know nothing about your personal father, and as such I would not presume to make observations about him (or her; I will not assume its gender). I was speaking generally about the average American father and how the “unscripted, full of exaggeration, but passionate, unrehearsed, real” style is what many Americans connected with in Trump.

            Here is the new poll: http://www.politico.com/story/2017/02/trump-media-trust-poll-fox-news-235168

            The demographics of the poll are as follows: Sample dates, February 11-13 2017; random national sample of 1,013 registered voters, 433 polled from land lines, 580 from cell phones; 42% Democrat, 39% Republican, 19% Other.

            Re: Sweden, yes: it has been ravaged by refugees. Just like much of Europe. I support our president and read Politico, et al., daily.

            Financial messes clean themselves up. Bailouts prevent the self-righting of advanced economic systems. To say Obama fixed anything is to ignore the likelihood that America would have achieved an awe-inspiring 2% average GDP growth post-recession whether or not Obama did anything. This is basic economics. I assume you are playing ignorant here, too. The game is far from won, as I think we’re seeing.

            My attempt at humor: Trump is not a duck.

            “If you will take the time and the brain cells to read what I have written you will find that I don’t lean on that left/right crutch. Honestly I don’t give a shit about the left or right I am firmly in the middle, and there is a happy place in the middle. This country moves to far in both direction and then we over correct. Sadly, Trump is a poor choice for this over correction and Pence is an off the edge correction.”

            If you do not identify as Leftist, I apologize. I mistook your failure to understand what has happened in this country as a failing mostly seen on the Left.

            Thank you for the response. You are quite an asshole. Not that that’s illegal.

            Like

          • “In a month, Trump has done quite a bit (travel ban, pipelines, the repeal of Obama’s transgendered bathroom order, officially killing the TPP, nomination of a Supreme Court Justice) all of which receive more support than disdain from Americans.” A Fox News perception which, sadly like the popular vote, does not generate “more support than disdain from Americans”. Your segment of the population is just louder than mine, more in your face than mine, the same guys who said “Fuck you” to me or tried to run me off the road simply because I had a Hillary Clinton sticker on my car. I wouldn’t allow my wife to put a Clinton sticker on her car because I was concerned about her safety. Think about that for a minute. I hope that is not the kind of Trump supporter you are.

            “That aside, I was, as you know, talking about Trump’s speech, and what he “did” in the speech, which I explained. You’re a literalist, which I appreciate, but a seemingly angry one who, at least as evidenced by this response, purposely plays ignorant.” I don’t play the “ignorant” card. When both Bushes and the man equal to Jesus Christ in conservatives mind, Reagan were Presidents I wanted these men to succeed, but it was easy to root for them because they weren’t narcissists dick heads like your man DJT. Sorry, but I call a spade a spade.

            “Obviously I know nothing about your personal father, and as such I would not presume to make observations about him (or her; I will not assume its gender). I was speaking generally about the average American father and how the “unscripted, full of exaggeration, but passionate, unrehearsed, real” style is what many Americans connected with in Trump.” Keep in mind a
            minority of Americans.

            “The demographics of the poll are as follows: Sample dates, February 11-13 2017; random national sample of 1,013 registered voters, 433 polled from land lines, 580 from cell phones; 42% Democrat, 39% Republican, 19% Other.” Demographics are age, sex, income, and geographic region.

            “Re: Sweden, yes: it has been ravaged by refugees. Just like much of Europe. I support our president and read Politico, et al., daily.” That’s fine, everybody has got to believe in something.

            “Financial messes clean themselves up. Bailouts prevent the self-righting of advanced economic systems. To say Obama fixed anything is to ignore the likelihood that America would have achieved an awe-inspiring 2% average GDP growth post-recession whether or not Obama did anything. This is basic economics. I assume you are playing ignorant here, too. The game is far from won, as I think we’re seeing.” I am going to call bullshit on this. It would be easier for me to relate if I knew your age and your lot in life. If you were still sucking on your mom’s tit eight years ago rather than paying a mortgage, car payments and two college tuitions as I was eight years ago. The world “sucked” eight years ago. The world is better, eight years later because of hard decisions our President made.

            “My attempt at humor: Trump is not a duck.” Correct he is a Fuck, my attempt at humor.

            “If you do not identify as Leftist, I apologize. I mistook your failure to understand what has happened in this country as a failing mostly seen on the Left.” Unfortunately for me the “failing” is a Fox News, Russ Limbaugh perception. I wish the conservative right would find the time and the inclination to simply think for themselves. The world really isn’t a bad place, and is not quite the “mess” that your savior would have you believe.

            “Thank you for the response. You are quite an asshole. Not that that’s illegal.” I really don’t consider myself an asshole, my wife and my kids love me. Maybe you aren’t used to dealing with people that have the ability to think for themselves, that have read a book or 12 rather watching television talking head telling them how they should think.

            Like

        • Nan says:

          … that people care more about results than rhetoric

          Thing is … so far all we’ve heard is rhetoric. We’re still waiting for the results.

          Liked by 2 people

  6. Patty says:

    And then he screams his longs out about fake news…As sad as it is, I had to laugh about him mentioning Sweden…the hole he digs for himself is getting deeper and deeper…Yippee, keep screaming you orange dude.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Having to live through shit will make life very stinky but shit is warm even if it smells and prevents us from remembering when humans believed in truth love empathy morals oh I could go on but why we are deep in the goo right now

    Liked by 1 person

  8. mikechris28 says:

    Egoistic? It’s not an intelligence gap. I only read half of your article before I decided I no longer want to hear your whining. I don’t care what you call republicans, we won.

    Like

  9. Autumn Cote says:

    Would it be OK if I cross-posted this article to WriterBeat.com? I’ll be sure to give you complete 2credit as the author. There is no fee, I’m simply trying to add more content diversity for our community and I liked what you wrote. If “OK” please respond via email.

    Autumn
    AutumnCote@WriterBeat.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

