Trump’s noise

trump-e1469931886938

“No, I think that President Obama is behind it, because his people are certainly behind it and some of the leaks, possibly come from that group, some of the leaks — which are really very serious leaks because they’re very bad in terms of national security — but I also understand that’s politics. And in terms of him being behind things, that’s politics. And it will probably continue.” – President Donald J. Trump

There was nothing to watch on television last night at nine o’clock so I decided to watch The Rachel Maddow Show on MSNBC. By nine my wife is curled up on the sofa under an afghan with her cat trying to keep her eyes open and make it to 9:30 before she heads upstairs for bed. But when she saw that I was going to watch Rachel she got up and headed for bed.

I asked, “You don’t watch this?” and she said no. Then she said something I found very interesting, she was “tired of hearing about Trump” and she went to bed.

I thought about her statement as Rachel pounded Trump once again on his Russian connections. For my wife her “tired of hearing about Trump” has turned into a “same old shit just a different day” attitude. She is being lulled to sleep by all the “Trump shit” while his administration “slips” other “shit” in the backdoor like billionaire Wilbur Ross as Secretary of Commerce. Ross is another cabinet pick with very strong Russian ties and he also helped bail Trump out several years ago with the sale of a Trump property to another billionaire who just happened to be, you guessed it, Russian. His profit on this property in just two years of owning it? The magical $40 million he owed Deutsche Bank before going into default.

At this point, my wife, a smart, caring and compassionate human being doesn’t know who or what to believe. Better still, she doesn’t know what is important and what is just noise and the one thing our new President and his minions are the masters of is making a lot of noise.

Real estate developers have two tried and true negotiating tactics, wear you down and when you get close to the end, change the deal. I speak from experience because for thirty years this has been my business. You wear someone down by giving them a 100 page contract when 30 pages would do. The other 70 pages are just noise. A page about who is responsible for a zombie invasion or what happens if a tidal wave strikes Billings, Montana (look it up). Each irrational point is negotiated, ad nauseam, as if the very survival of the world depended on it. And then, after months or years have passed, as the time draws near to close, when the Seller has already spent the money in their head for a new yacht, you change the deal which typically means, in the case of real estate, getting a lower price or better financing terms.

Yes we should continue to press our President to release his tax returns and explain his cozy relationship with the Russians and Putin. But while our eyes are on those balls we will miss so many others Trump and Bannon are juggling right in front of us. Tales like “Russia talk is FAKE NEWS put out by the Dems, and played up by the media, in order to mask the big election defeat and the illegal leaks!” sucks us in like a sparkling stone glistening in the sun. It’s a soap opera, a train wreck, the ultimate reality television program and it captivates our attention. The dumbing down of America began years ago, Trump is just capitalizing on it by giving both sides the noise they want to hear.

Stay attentive, read and support the “fake news” but don’t get sucked down the rabbit hole they have chosen to occupy our attention. We certainly don’t want to go to sleep, wake-up and discover four years have turned into eight.

“I don’t think…” then you shouldn’t talk, said the Hatter.” – Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Trump’s noise

  1. That is one of my favorite pics of Trump. A picture is worth a thousand words, right? Yes, we are being swamped with intentional bullshit so that they can do their dirty work behind the smokescreens. An issue in my state has been the refusal of our Republican legislators to meet in public forum with constituents. It’s gonna get nasty before it gets better.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Nan says:

    I watch Rachel off and on. Most of the time, it’s off. Not because I don’t like her, but she’s on the same time as our local news. Sometimes, if I don’t forget, I’ll watch a replay of her show at a later hour — which is what I did last night.

    I was quite taken with the information she provided. Of course while she makes it all so “obvious” what was going on with the selection of Wilbur Ross, the average Joe Schmo doesn’t have a clue. And this seems to be the running story behind everything our fearless leader has been doing. Only those who are “paying attention” see what’s unfolding before our very eyes. This is not to say we should believe every word we see/hear, but the trend is pretty hard to miss if you’re staying alert.

    And it’s the “staying alert” crowd that MUST do what we can to reveal this guy for what he really is.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Great thoughts. I don’t blog about political stuff on WP but I will comment. On FB, I refuse to be silent about my opinion of Trump and his dangerous pack. Recently, for 14 nights, (on FB) I did one sign of fascism each night. I try to only deal in real facts. I recently lost 3 in law family members who were tired of my political posts. They voted for Trump. (Then again, they are in laws, so no big deal. They truly are horrible bigots and I don’t need them in my life) so I will stay alert and vigilant as well as do what I can to make sure he’s only in for 4 years or less.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Patty says:

    Although I totally can understand your wives feelings, I am glad you still keep on keeping us awake.
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Greatestblog says:

    Hello everyone,my name is Mamadi and I am 25 years old.I am actually studying English in United states.I have recently found this blog that I definitely recommend to check on it.First of all,the writer is an American who is more involved to inform people about the american’s political issues.he wrote conveniently about the current president of United states who keep extrapolating on the former president Obama’s minions.Most importantly,one of the indicators that makes this blog more interesting to me is that the writer points out the misconception and the criticism Trump regrading to Obama’s administration,but the writer didn’t mention any reliable reason why the president has a cozy relationship with Russian.in fact,it seems unclear to determine whether the writer sustain the Obama’s or not.therefore I suggest to follow him for his great ideas to track the way thing are going in state.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Patricia says:

    My husband who once hated Fox News now watches nothing else, I mean, nothing else. I have withdrawn from watching tv with him and I miss it. I just cannot stomach the blind loyalty to Trump. Apparently their jobs depend on defending Trump.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

