The acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree

“Hunting is not a sport. In a sport, both sides should know they’re in the game.” –  Paul Rodriguez

Let me make this disclaimer, I am not a hunter or a gun owner. I abhor the sport of killing animals so that their heads can be mounted on walls.

These are Donald Trump’s sons:

trump-sons

I am sorry, but no matter what I think about their father these pictures, those smiles, and the death of these two majestic animals for the “joy” of killing them, makes me think even less of our Presidents sons if that is possible.

So let me answer the “Basket of Deplorables” question, yes, I eat cows, pigs, and chickens. And why is that different? If you can even remotely compare the BBQ chicken wings that I buy at the grocery and cook on my grill to the dead Cheetah that the Trump boys are hugging you are not only an idiot but a moron as well and as Mark Twain said I “Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.”

I understand deer hunting, you mount the head if you find it “worthy” of mounting, but you eat the meat. I get it. I wouldn’t do it because I think deer are beautiful creatures and I don’t like the way they taste, but The Trump boys aren’t going to eat the Waterbuck or the Cheetah they have killed and so proudly display. They are going to post the pictures on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, have the heads cutoff and mount them in their “man caves”. It is a male thing, a “big dick” thing whether you got one or not. At the very least it creates the illusion of a “big dick” I guess.

In my community I know three “Big Game” hunters and all three fit the same profile. All three are little guys in stature, all three are very petty, quick to anger, and all three are absolute assholes. Now I realize my sample size is pretty small, but think about it, what kind of thrill would you get from killing an Elephant, a Lion, a Waterbuck or a Cheetah? Is it a sense of power? Or maybe control? What exactly is the thrill you are searching for that couldn’t be substituted with a camera?

I look at the pictures of these two dick heads and it just breaks my heart (these two ass-wipes are serial “killers”, google “trump sons hunting” for many more pictures of their “conquest”). Never mind the thousands, maybe hundreds of thousands they have spent to garner these “trophies”. Never mind that they have no intention of grilling Waterbuck steaks or Cheetah fillets. They killed two defenseless creatures for the sheer sport of it. Two creatures that didn’t deserve to die. If you really wanted to make it contest, a fair fight, give the Trump boys a rock and a stick to take the Cheetah down. If they were to win that battle then by all means mount your trophy proudly. My money though would be on the Cheetah.

“Killing animals for sport, for pleasure, for adventure, and for hides and furs is a phenomena which is at once disgusting and distressing. There is no justification in indulging is such acts of brutality.” – His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama

        

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree

  1. I’m with you all the way on this. Hunting animals for food is one thing; doing it for “sport” is, well, deplorable.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. etherealbeingsinmylife says:

    I am a vegetarian but I have nothing against those who eat meat. Being a vegetarian is not for everyone and eating meat is not for everyone. What I am against is the needless killing of other beings. My son is a hunter but he plans on eating what he hunts. I told him I would rather he eat what he hunts than what can be bought at the store because it is safer and healthier. Needless killing is something uncompassionate idiots do.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nan says:

    I’m with with Mr. Lama.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is unanimous then. I was a hunter, have nothing against those who use the meat. Your “big dick” theory applies to my previous profession, driving semi. The trucker with the loudest CB radio that could be heard half way across the country usually was a diminutive man in stature and mind. Never bothered to verify the….well you know…your theory.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wholeheartedly agree! May I add that I was married to a short man and your description fits him perfectly? He was super buff too to make up for his stature. I was too young to not realize what this particular short man was like. And I too, sadly, had to purge a few distant relatives on FB because they did not like my factual posts on our new President. The ones who were civil, stayed.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. autistsix says:

    Farming, hunter gathering etc when done properly include a respect for the animal. For various reasons I do believe in environmentally humane meat eating, but killing things shouldn’t be fun. Unless it is a feeling of satisfaction at causing the smallest amount of pain and targeting animals in a sustainable way, weak, old, pests.
    Hunting rare even slightly rare animals for fun or personal aggrandizement is sick. However it is not necessarily the hunter that is sick, sometimes they are just brought up wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

