The shell game the politicians are playing with Healthcare

Here is what I know about healthcare;

  1. A visit to the Doctor is expensive but so is a visit to my auto mechanic. I wouldn’t want my Doctor working on my car and I wouldn’t want my mechanic giving me a colostomy.
  2. Medicine is expensive. I understand that creating drugs takes time, and smart, expensive people, but at some point, during the life of a drug you would think the prices would come down.
  3. Running a hospital is expensive. People, knowledge, regulations, insurance, and equipment all cost money. The problem is if you need to have open heart surgery do you want Wal-Mart service or Tiffany service? When your life is on the line it is difficult to negotiate.
  4. Health Insurance is expensive. Most health insurance companies can’t manage their risk because the young, healthy people opt out of paying premiums which leaves an aging population shouldering the burden.
  5. To many Americans simply don’t take care of themselves. We smoke, we drink, we eat too much fatty foods and we don’t exercise. More than one-third of American adults are obese and typically obese parents are raising obese children. We are our own worst enemy when it comes to healthcare.

I am very fortunate, I have excellent health insurance and, knock wood, I haven’t had any serious health issues. According to Donald Trump and the Republicans the Affordable Care Act (ACA) or as it is commonly called by our “friends” on the right, Obamacare is a “disaster”, “a train wreck”, “a failure” and “collapsing”. The Republicans are going to fix it, but they can’t agree how on to do it. Half, including Trump,  want to offer us what is being called “Obamacare-lite” the other half, the so-called Freedom Caucus want to completely scrap Obamacare and start all over.

Now, I am sure the ACA has issues. Any time the Federal Government tries to “fix” something without “fixing” or controlling the free market part trouble is likely to occur and Republicans hate, HATE to mess with the free market part. But I was convinced then as I am convinced now that President Obama’s heart was in the right place.

We need to remember the when and the why President Obama put the ACA in place, a little context. Think back to what the economy was like. Americans had lost their jobs or had their hours cut back. It was a tough time and, although it may seem like a band-aid now, millions of American’s were happy to have this rope thrown their way and some are still holding on.

What are the answers? In my mind a complete healthcare overhaul which includes you and I taking better care of ourselves. There are no magic pills or quick fixes and despite what Trump and the Republicans are trying to sell us they don’t have all the answers that they think they do. Stay tuned.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The shell game the politicians are playing with Healthcare

  1. Nan says:

    Correct me if I’m wrong, but the “tax credits” the Repugs are discussing … wouldn’t that be something that would only benefit someone at tax time? IOW, the doctor/hospital bill would be paid “up front,” and then you would get a “credit” on your taxes which, supposedly, would “replace” (some) of the money you had to spend out of your pocket. Yes? No?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ACA is not perfect, but better than what we had before it came along. Hopefully reasonable minds will eventually come up with an improved system.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. William Tell says:

    For poor uninsurables like me, there was a lot more at stake than a little relief from the recession. Recall that, some years before, as mere First Lady, Hillary had attempted much the same thing. My conspiracy theory: the GOP will change practically nothing; all the bombastic talk of “repeal” was merely to disparage the keystone project of a black man.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “the keystone project of a black man”- William you summed it nicely. According to a friend of mine who is an ER Doctor, the cost of healthcare is affected dramatically because of the number of people who use the emergency room as their primary healthcare provider. They don’t have any choice and we all pay for that choice.

      Like

      • Nan says:

        Yet, from what I’ve read, the “new” plan will eliminate the subsidies that allowed people to be able to pay for medical care up front and thus, lessen the use of ER treatment. Yes? (I admit, I’m not totally familiar with the workings of Obamacare.)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. He is a billionaire not a politician so what would he know about healthcare?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

