Trump-blasé

I was afraid this would happen. Honestly I am surprised I have lasted this long. A wave of Trump-blasé washed over me yesterday when I got another email from one of my Republican Senators. Each one is the same basic blah-blah, work together, blah-blah, make America strong, blah-blah. I get a sense that both of my Senators have a case of the seemingly incurable Trump-blasé as well.

I wrote many post ago about all the balls that Trump and Bannon (T&B) are juggling in front of us and the media. The “Fake News” sinks their teeth into a story like the Russian Connection and T&B toss another ball above our heads like President Obama personally wiretapping Trump’s microwave. I guess Obama wanted to see how many frozen burritos Trump eats. The latest ball is two pages of a 2005 tax return that shows Trump actually made money and paid taxes. And as expected, this twelve-year-old two page piece of history has caused a media feeding frenzy diverting their eyes from every other Trump ball floating around in outer space.

Would T&B have leaked this document themselves? How hell yea. It would give Trump the opportunity to tweet; “Does anybody really believe that a reporter, who nobody ever heard of, “went to his mailbox” and found my tax returns? @NBCNews FAKE NEWS!” which he did and it shows that he can earn millions as well as pay millions in taxes. But here is thing, I could go back through my 30 years of tax returns and find that perfect year that I made a lot of money (comparatively speaking) and paid a lot of taxes. I could also find that year that I made a lot of money but the taxes were offset by a big real estate loss. In the meantime we haven’t seen or even sniffed Trump’s latest returns and I doubt we ever will, but “we” elected him anyway. He could owe millions to the Russians and the Chinese, but “we” elected him anyway. He could be generating massive profits with foreign partners, partners with ties to foreign regimes, but “we” elected him anyway.

You see, his deplorables didn’t care and don’t care just like the religious right didn’t and don’t care that he has been married three times or that he likes to grab women by the, well you know where he likes to garb women. T&B are counting on, no banking on the rest of us growing that shell of “I don’t care” as well. There is a reason the circus only comes to town once a year. We would all get bored if we had to watch the Flying Wallendas every-single-day just like the boredom I am beginning to feel watching our President shoot himself out of a cannon without a net every-single-day. Truly it becomes the same old shit, same old storyline, followed by the same old tweet.

So what happens when the rest of us, those non-deplorables, decide we just can’t take it anymore, and crawl back into our caves for the next four and maybe even eight years? Here is my prediction, the Trump family will be rich beyond their wildest dreams. Being President of United States of America is the ultimate currency. Debts are repaid with interest and favors are gained today and for the future. Oh, and when will we see his tax returns? Democrats attempted Monday to force a House floor vote on a resolution to “request” Trump’s tax returns. The effort failed on a party line vote, 229-185, so don’t hold your breathe.

“To be clear, folks, I don’t intimidate. But calls to family are out of bounds, a disturbing sign of how Trump damages civil debate.” – 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trump-blasé

  1. I agree with you. Yes, his basket of supporters will continue crawling up Trump’s butt until kingdom come regardless of what the idiocy in DC brings forth. Today the potus has compared the forces working against him to those of Nazi Germany. Whoa! what a bunch of crapola. For me, working with our congressmen is futile. Our Democrat, Sen Bill Nelson, is facing a challenge from our idiot Republican governor in 2018. Florida is awash in Republican fervor. I foresee total Republican control of our DC seats after 2018. We need to start thinking outside the box. Politics as usual is not going to work anymore.

    Liked by 2 people

    • My sister lived in Florida for about 10 years. A liberal southern girl in a sea of conservatives from Ohio and Michigan. After her husband was transferred, she ran across the border as quick as she could, losing money on an empty house. As she said, it was the best money she has ever lost.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nan says:

    As ever, you hit the nail on the head.

    I’m sooo sick of all this jerk is getting away with! And frustrated! No one seems to want or be able to do anything about all the crapola that’s going on. Either that, or (1) the “liberal” press is making too big a deal of things and the stuff really isn’t that bad, or (2) the Repugs are so intent upon staying in control they’re looking the other way and burying as much as they can.

    I hate to think we’ll get to the point where we “crawl back into our caves for the next four” (I won’t even consider eight years!). But perhaps, for our mental health, it may become necessary.

    Thank the gods for the internet and blogs where we can occasionally let off steam.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You certainly know how to make us think about Teflon Don. I think he actually now has us all in the palm of his hand. Just like putty. Fake news is now his fake news he will not allow any news now that does not have him coming up smelling of roses. The sad news is the corruption and there is a lot of it, his boys who look after the Trump business are being supported by the White House security which the White House pays for and yet they do not work for the White House but have the luxury of us paying for their security. Why are their no people who are undercover looking for the corruption?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

