He started it

200188241-002

This country is divided and honestly that isn’t really anything new. As much as I hate labels for the purpose of this post and for the sake of clarity I am going to define the two sides as the Right and the Left. I wish there were more sides, at least three to choose from but I am afraid whatever middle ground that once existed has simply eroded away.

Now for any of you that may be first time readers of my blog I used to exist somewhat in the middle but leaning much more to the Left. That all changed when I was forced to pick a side and yes I was forced, think football, Alabama or Auburn, Ohio or Michigan.

You see from my perspective, in the middle on the Left, the Right simply got too nasty, starting with the guy that yelled “F*ck you” to me simply because I had a Hillary Clinton sticker on my car. The Right has spent the last eight years stewing. Sure they controlled the House and the Senate and the majority of the states too but they didn’t have the top spot, the man behind the big desk. And for some on the Right, those that I once viewed on the lunatic fringe, it was the man behind the big desk that they hated the most. Now you can decide for yourself what it was that they hated about this man his politics, his party, his views, his religion, or his race. It was probably a combination of many things some spoken, some whispered, but the ugliness started shortly after his election eight years ago and snowballed into the frenzy we call Donald Trump.

I make no apologies for where I stand now. I would prefer to be more in the middle on the Left but Fox News, Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, and Steve Bannon wouldn’t let me. I had to pick a side. I was either with them or against them. In my view the Right has created an environment of winner take all, there is no middle ground, or compromise. Is there a liberal bias in the media? It depends on which network you watch, the Right has their “Fake News” and the Left has itsThat is where we are, that is where I am. Who do you believe? Which side are you on?

So if what I write sounds like just one side of two eight year olds arguing over the last piece of pizza I get it. If you believe I should take the high road and not stoop to their level, I get that too. And if I sound defensive sometimes it is because I am. From my view there is a very ugly underbelly on the Right who speak words and share thoughts that at one time they just kept to themselves. They have found their voice, and they feel like they have the man behind the big desk to support their views and their mandate and sadly I am not convinced they don’t. And not to sound overly dramatic or too sensational their views scare me and I don’t understand why they don’t scare more people.

Maybe things will mellow but in order for that to happen both sides will need to compromise, find some common ground. Will it happen? I don’t know. The last time I felt like this, felt this kind of divide it took a catastrophic event, 9/11, to bring this country back together. I hope we will find another way. But I won’t compromise until they do and I know that sounds childish but he started it.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to He started it

  1. Nan says:

    VERY well put! Speaking for myself, I would much prefer to be a “centrist,” but the actions and total disregard for those less fortunate by the current “right” administration leaves me no choice but to lean “left.”

    If you haven’t, I urge you to look at the article I referenced in my most recent post, i.e., “Scary Stuff.” I deeply fear this is where we’re headed. Especially under the current administration.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Reblogged this on Dana Ellington, MAPW and commented:
    So aptly describes the majority of my feelings. Ends & Beginnings is a great blog to read not just because the author and I agree on many a subject, but because he has a wide variety of well written posts that help give me new perspectives on life. Definitely check him out :-).

    Liked by 5 people

  3. mwdunham says:

    Stand your ground! There’s been WAY TOO MUCH apathy. I think it’s a mistake though to label oneself according to popular constructs such as centrist, left, right, etc. It binds ones ability to be who they uniquely are and inhibits othersiders who may agree about a topic from coming forward. I came across a Twitter account @Trump_Regrets. It’s filled with posts from people who now regret voting for Trump along with ones from people shaming or accepting them. They also have a FB page. (I know you don’t FB) Also, there’s this article http://www.playboy.com/articles/life-in-a-purple-state. Yes, it’s from PB but it’s worth the perusal. No, I don’t look at PB but that’s really none of your business 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am going to take this to the core. We have elected the administration we now have because following Vietnam we doped up, dropped out, and “dumbed down” not because we were stupid but because we were sick and tired of the system which had thrown us into an unwinnable war. Those of us who do not fit the above categories have been too damned busy trying to just survive on the “under the table crumbs” the elitists have allowed to drop through their filthy, corrupt fingers. The American military/industrial complex has robbed us of our money and our natural resources. They have sacrificed our courageous young warriors to the gods of corporate profits. America is not the kind, gentle, altruistic country we all sing and proclaim in patriotic songs. Its peoples are the best on earth, but its government has descended into the sewers of hell. Having said that…..let’s look toward the elections of 2018 and 2020. I still believe we can change our course. Sorry, my friend in SC, didn’t mean to grandstand on your turf.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. tsepotheview says:

    It’s sad that politics affect you whether you like it or not…http://social impactor.WordPress. com for some inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Patty says:

    Fantastic post again!
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Will says:

    Good stuff. I like you was a centrist. Fiscal conservative. Social liberal. Silly me for thinking that spending money on Headstart makes more sense than 45k a year for that kid in prison. My politics shifted to the hard Left.

    Do not go gently into that good night
    Rage. Rage against the dying of the light

    While I will still talk politics with some, for the most part no. My shift has been a long time evolving. Traveled in the Navy. Seen the other side of the resort wall. Life happens. The unexpected. It’s also a economic survival issue. My favorite painting is where the lone Viking charges the shield wall at Stamford bridge. My enlistment oath still applies. Support and defend the Constitution against all enemies, foreign and domestic

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

