Shifting Baseline Syndrome

Flexible Flyers_in_Snow

I grew up in a large city in the Southeast. When I was a kid of eight or nine I remember getting several big snows each year, the kind that cancelled school for two or three days. Now why I remember this is because I lived next door to “the hill”.

For any of you unfamiliar with the term “the hill” this is spot where kids within a three-mile radius would come and sled. In an other otherwise flat world “the hill” was our Mount Everest.

I had a hand-me-down Flexible Flyer from my older cousins who lived down the street from us. For whatever reason when they hit fourteen they became to cool to sled but I wasn’t. For the next three or four years I wore that sled out, literally. It’s final voyage was right before Christmas when I was eleven. Screaming down “the hill” I had to make a hard right to avoid some little kids and hit the street curb. I went flying in the air left and the Flexible Flyer went right, nailing a tree and breaking in half. Sled season over.

Fortunately, Santa Claus, being the jolly good-hearted man that he is, brought me a new sled for Christmas, the max daddy, the Cadillac of Flexible Flyers, sixty inches of steel and white-oak. By the time I got to be a cool fourteen year old I had only used it twice. It just quit snowing.

Shifting Baseline Syndrome is (1) generational amnesia, where knowledge extinction occurs because younger generations are not aware of past conditions and (2) personal amnesia, where knowledge extinction occurs as individuals forget their own experiences.

We have all heard the stories from our parents about walking ten miles to school barefoot in three feet of snow but for many of us the experiences of the past are true. It used to be cold in February. This year, in my neck of the woods, the flowers bloomed. It used to rain in the summer. Last year at my house, it didn’t rain once during the months of July or August. If it happens again, my expectations will shift, my baseline will change. Part of me will know it is wrong and probably part of a much bigger problem but I will continue on with my busy life accepting this as the new normal.

Think about all the environmental issues we are dealing with today, warm winters, hot dry summers, wild fires, droughts, and unusually high occurrences of tornadoes and other deadly storms. These have become our norms, events that barely register our attention on the news any longer. Why? Shifting Baseline Syndrome.

We can apply the Shifting Baseline Syndrome theory to any number of experiences and conditions from terrorism, politics to religion. But for me our shifting baseline on environmental conditions is one of the most telling and certainly a long-term experience that will potentially have the most dramatic effect on future generations.

Our current administration has shown a total lack of regard for environmental issues from funding to leadership. Their short-term, twenty year view of the world placate voters but does nothing to ensure that our children or grandchildren will have clean water to drink or clean air to breathe. For them it is about economic gain at all cost and the cost of coal, pipelines, energy and jobs is the environment. If we allow them to shift the environmental baseline for political gain that is our fault and future generations won’t blame Trump but you and I because we accepted their shift rather fought against it.

Sea Ice, Nature, And The Trump Budget

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Politics, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shifting Baseline Syndrome

  1. etherealbeingsinmylife says:

    Reblogged this on A Healing Grief and commented:
    The environment is a very important issue on our blog so we felt the need to share this. I admit that I survived the Winter of ’77/’78 in Northeast Ohio and had a paper route, which my parents did not drive me to deliver these papers. I will admit that it is one of the worst winters on record; however, when I was a child every winter was cold and snowy. At least 5″ of snow on the ground during the majority of the winter was not uncommon. These days it is rare. Climate change should never happen in a mere 40 years. That is much too quick.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suze says:

    My childhood winters were so completely different from the past few years. Raised in northern Virginia we had snowfalls of between 12 and 37 inches…every year. I too lived next door to “the Hill” and we wore out sled after sled..not to mention the trash can lids and plain cardboard boxes also used to get from the top to the bottom while (hopefully) missing the creek in the middle. My grandchild, growing up in CHICAGO has seen less snow in her lifetime than I saw growing up. This year we had one snowfall of less than an inch. Flowers started blooming the second week of January. I am hoping that we exchange our lawmakers this next cycle for people WITH a clue!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Of all the ways this administration is ruining our country, this is unquestionably the most dangerous. We have all got to make our voices heard that we do NOT accept these policies that accelerate our extinction.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Dana Ellington, MAPW and commented:
    Keeping me on my toes for sure. Another good post from Ends and Beginnings.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nan says:

    Considering tRump and his cronies’ total disregard for the environment, probably the only “saving grace” we have is that he and the Repugs will have control for ONLY the next FOUR years. This is not to say that our planet is going to standstill for the next four years, but in the larger scheme of things, it is something to hang onto. Now if the four years turns into eight (or more, the gods forbid!), then we most DEFINITELY have something to worry about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

