When the cat is away the mouse goes to bed early

tums-48

I love cheap frozen pizza. Honestly, I love any kind of pizza, but when my wife is out-of-town I always eat a frozen pizza and buy a six-pack of really good beer. I realize it is not good for me, the pizza not the beer. No it is probably horrible for me. There is nothing “natural” in frozen pizza but fortunately she doesn’t go out-of-town very often, and as such I don’t eat frozen pizza often.

As empty nesters we have a routine. I have more flexibility with work so I cook dinner more often than she does. We also still have a “child” at home, a thirteen year old cat that has a set routine that doesn’t involve me in any shape, form or fashion. When Mom is gone she is one lost and lonely kitty. I don’t know what she wants or what she needs and honestly I don’t care. That may be part of our “relationship” problem.

So the cat is away and this mouse is sleepy. I could go out and bar hop but instead I stayed home and ate a frozen pizza, drank a six-pack of very good beer and watched a lonely feline wander around the house. The twenty-five year old me would be disappointed, no ashamed. But the fifty-six year old me will be ready for bed at ten o’clock. Last time I checked, and it has been a long time since I checked, the fun usually doesn’t start until well past eleven. It has been a long time since I have seen anything that resembles bar fun or much of anything past eleven.

It’s funny, I used to be the life of the party. I could run with the big dogs because I was the big dog. Today I am just a frozen pizza eating canine with an early bedtime There are guys my age still out there trying to “score”. I hear them talking about it. They go to the old people bars, yes there is such a thing, they just start a lot earlier, like at six o’clock and are done by ten. I get that. Hell I would be done by 8:30.

So tonight I ate my frozen pizza, and drank my wonderful stouts. I am watching a movie I know my wife would hate that will be over at ten. When it is ends I will let the cat in, go to bed and be happy I am waking-up in a place I recognize with a cat that hates me and misses her Mommy. Boring yes, but there is something very comforting about boring at this stage in my life. Damn that frozen pizza. I hope we have some Tums in the house.

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When the cat is away the mouse goes to bed early

  1. I love boring, in fact is it really boring to love to be who you are, we rush about trying to be something when being who we are is ok.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Friends look at my life and say, “So what do you do for fun?” I don’t even offer a reply. If they can’t see that I am always having fun, then they would not understand anyway. Why waste precious breath? (A recent study by the “Pizza Association” listed the health benefits of frozen pizza. It was a very short list) LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

