You do you and I’ll do me; Syria

“You pick and choose your battles and when we’re looking at this, it’s about changing up priorities and our priority is no longer to sit there and focus on getting Assad out,” – U.S. Ambassador Nikki Haley

“I think the longer term status of President Assad will be decided by the Syrian people.” – Secretary of State Rex Tillerson

At least 70 people, including at least 10 children, have been killed in what is suspected to be one of the deadliest chemical attacks in Syria in years, activist groups say. Airstrikes hit the rebel-held city of Khan Sheikhoun in Idlib province on Tuesday morning, giving off a “poisonous gas,” according to Anas al-Diab, an activist with the Aleppo Media Center.

The attack, which has been blamed on the Syrian regime by activists and condemned by international leaders, has reportedly left hundreds injured. The Syrian military denied using chemical weapons and said rebels were responsible. World leaders called the reported use of chemical weapons an outrage. – CNN, April 4, 2017

I get it, I really do. The definition of a populous President can be boiled down to one simple phrase “You do you and I’ll do me”. But the images are heartbreaking. The country of Syria has been destroyed and now its people are being gassed. It is any wonder they are fleeing across the Syrian borders by the millions?

And what is our President tweeting about? Make America Great Again, Jobs, Tremendous Spirit, Optimism. Absolutely no mention of Syria or what his buddy Vladimir Putin is doing to support Syrian President Bashar al-Assad. Hell even as the bodies of dead children fill my television screen Putin defends Assad.

Look I get it. Why should America be the world enforcer? Why should we stick our noses in other countries business? Joe and Betty Deplorable up in Fort Dodge, Iowa aren’t worried about Syria. They are worried about the price of a gallon of gas and milk. They need a new roof on their house and Joe’s hours have been cut. And any way Syria is on the other side of the world, 6,400 miles away, “You do you and I’ll do me”. That is why they elected Donald Trump. Worry about me, not them. Worry about me!

“Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.”

“Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.”

Rex Tillerson’s statement summed up the Donald Trump populous party line best, the “status of President Assad will be decided by the Syrian people.” Unfortunately this isn’t true. The status of President Assad will be decided by Russian President Vladimir Putin and the recent St. Petersburg suicide bombing may very well take the decision out of his hands and put it to a vote by the Russian citizens if, and this is a big ass if, if Putin doesn’t have all of his challengers for President murdered or imprisoned.

So yes, I get it “You do you and I’ll do me”. But we don’t tell Israel that, or Japan. Certainly there are “strategic” reasons we are there rather than humanitarian. But have you seen the Syrian images? Have you seen the faces of the mothers and fathers trying to protect their children. As Mahatma Gandhi stated; “We may not be God, but we are of God, even as a little drop of water is of the ocean.” Syria is part of our ocean, and the tears of a mother holding her dead five-year old daughter who was just outside playing five minutes ago are our tears, filling our ocean. What will God think of our answer “You do you and I’ll do me” when asked why we looked the other way?

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to You do you and I’ll do me; Syria

  1. Like it or not, we, the people of the world, are all connected. To ignore any of us is to lessen all of us.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Nan says:

    The rich who live in opulent mansions swim in their sparkling pools, hop in their golf cart to play a few rounds of golf, clean up in their gold-filled bathrooms, then slide in their Maseratis to drive to an exclusive restaurant for dinner. All this takes so much time and energy! How can anyone expect them to care about people who were gassed to their deaths in some far-off country? After all, they’re just human beings like the rest of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emmaleeshall says:

    Thank you for writing this. I was just telling someone else that I can’t even look at the horrifying photos of people and children!! dying in Syria. When will it end? A few months ago I made a t-shirt to wear around town so people will know instantly that I love and care about everybody, including refugees. I’ve gotten some angry responses to it, but I’m going to share it with you because I think that we agree on this. https://www.redbubble.com/people/emmaleedesigns/works/23827581-wwjd-heart-on-black?asc=u&p=classic-tee&ref=artist_shop_grid

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Al-Nusra conducted the two 2013 gas attacks that caused Obama to draw his red line in the sand. https://aurorawatcherak.wordpress.com/2017/04/07/is-assad-crazy-or-are-we-missing-something/ So why do we assume that they weren’t the perpetrators now? With Obama out, they were likely going to lose their funding, so they had a good reason to stage a false flag event, knowing that everyone would jump to the conclusion that Assad had done this.

    Just a suggestion that our outrage may be misplaced. Consider who benefits from inciting the US to attack Assad and whether they had the means to push our government in that direction. They got what they wanted from their 2013 attacks, so why not now?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Russians win on this one. The price of their energy just went up which will help their failing economy. Have we heard Trump utter one word about the Russians involvement in Syria? No

      Like

      • The Trump administration (Tillerson) said on Friday that they believe Russia enabled the attack. http://globalnews.ca/news/3367083/trump-administration-russia-syria/. Notice it’s the European news that’s reporting that. American media is extremely biased. And, it’s not just Russia that is helped by the price of oil going up – Alaska, North Dakota, Texas, even California gain revenue when the price of oil goes up.

        Like

        • “Tillerson said” and “Hailey said” was reported by the US Press, when will Trump move his lips and say it? Oh and Exxon, you are welcome Tillerson

          Like

          • So did you object when Obama didn’t comment on every matter of foreign affairs, especially when on the brink of war? Presidents often speak through their surrogates because it avoids antagonizing other countries whose allies you just bombed without sufficient evidence, which by the way, according to the Geneva Convention, is a legitimate reason for Russia to declare war on the US. Instead of foaming at the mouth about Exxon, which has nothing to do with this, maybe you ought to be drafting a thank-you note to Putin that he’s showing some restraint.

            And, no, I’m not on Putin’s side and I’m not a Trump supporter and if you go back and read the article, I oppose the bombing of Syria. I just prefer to look at things rationally rather than emotionally.

            Like

          • So you look at things “rationally” but our President seems to operate purely from emotions, better still he seems to operate emotionally without any facts or simply from his “intuition” which he claims is always spot on.

            I have a very difficult granting you the “Obama didn’t comment on every matter of foreign affairs” when other than praise for Putin we haven’t heard any disparaging remarks from Trump about Russia. If I am wrong on this please point it out. And I would have a very difficult time categorizing this little Syrian episode as simply a “every matter of foreign affairs”. Pretty confident President Obama would have commented and condemned the Russians for their role.

            This is a corporate President, backed by big corporate machines. His cabinet picks are all big business friendly. Trump uses the stock market as his Presidential approval rating rather than the Gallup. Releasing his tax returns would clear up 75% of his Russian problem but I would guess also demonstrate 100% of his indebtedness to the Russians and China.

            Sorry, I am going to remain emotional about this. I have a family to worry about, children that I want to live in a world that is thinking beyond the next election cycle. All political topics are emotional, both sides make them life or death topics. If I want to be heard then hear the emotion in my voice, hear my conviction about justice, clean air and water, the need for transparency.

            Exxon doesn’t give a shit about clean or alternative energy sources. They care about quarterly dividends not in the future but next month. Trump can’t see beyond his nose. I can and the images don’t excite me. What drives Exxon is what drives Trump, profits. Sorry if I don’t jump on the money makes everything better train.

            Again, I was torn about bombing Syria. But our President missed the opportunity to condemn Russia’s role as the images of all those dead children were shown on the evening news. In my opinion blood is on the hands of Assad, the Russians and because of his silence, Trumps as well.

            But hey, thanks for reading and taking the time to share your thoughts.

            Liked by 1 person

          • But should Obama have commented and risked war after he’d just authorized an act of war?

            That’s the real issue here. Until there is a real investigation, done by someone who doesn’t have an agenda, we are unlikely to know who actually caused the most recent Syrian gas attack. But given that the two in 2013 were blamed on Assad but turned out to be actually done by the rebels, then Trump may well find that he committed this act of war without any standing.

            That’s no different than what Obama did in 2013, except that Obama was sneakier. He PUBLICLY accepted Congress’s refusal for an authorization of war, but then funneled millions of dollar to the organization that gassed the Syrians in 2013. He further authorized thousands of bombing raids … as I said more than 10,000 in 2016 alone.

            As far as I can discover from legitimate sources (our intelligence networks can’t be trusted, because they’ve been wrong multiple times in the past), Russia had ZERO involvement in the gassing of the Syrians last week.

            And, that’s what I’m talking about with regard to rational versus emotion. In 2013, Obama reacted emotionally and he was WRONG! Later evidence has proven that. But that didn’t stop him from conducting an illegal bombing war in Syria.

            Now, in 2017, Trump got emotional and attacked Syria (unconstitutionally because he didn’t seek Congressional approval).

            But how is that any different than what Obama did? Honest analysis says they’re both wrong and only partisanship and emotion would give Obama a pass for the three year aerial war he prosecuted and then condemn Trump for not scolding Russia when we don’t even know that Russia was actually involved.

            Again, when you’re standing on the brink of World War 3, it’s a really good time to shut up and take a minute before commenting. I for one am glad Trump seems to be learning that lesson.

            Like

          • Standing on the brink of World War 3 is an overly dramatic description. Unless Russia can get another country to bankroll a declaration of war against America they have neither the money nor the support (from other countries or its citizens) for such an action.

            Sorry you and I are going to have to disagree on what you perceive as Trumps restrain from accusing the Russian. I say he is an co-conspirator.

            Like

          • No, I don’t think it is overly dramatic. Remember that World War 1 started with the assassination of an unimportant leader of an unimportant country by an unimportant assailant also from an unimportant country. Next thing you know, Britain and Germany are toe-to-toe and the world was aflame.

            Political scientists have said for 30 years that WW3 would start in the Middle East when the United States and Russia tangled over one or the other crossing a line with an ally.

            We’re $20 trillion in debt, which means we can ill afford another war. Russia has other allies besides Syria. You’ve got Iran issuing statements about the US crossing a red line. You’ve got Turkey, Israel and Saudi Arabia coming in our our side. Do you think the world has forgiven the US for Iraq yet? Are we positive China won’t decide to support Russia?

            You see, this is how World War 1 started … with insignificant events that nobody thought would spin out of control, but then entangling alliances and historical sentiment dragged everyone into it. Britain wasn’t able to afford to keep fighting the war, so they staged events to drag the US into it. And the world burst into flames.

            And what if you’re wrong? What if al-Nusra was once again responsible for the gas? Or ISIS, which is also known to have chemical weapons? Will you still insist that Trump should have condemned Russia for backing up their ally when they were unjustly attacked?

            Like

          • His surrogates have, why not The Boss? You claim they are speaking for him, lets hear it from the horses mouth.

            Like

Leave a Reply

