The head egg

Aerial view of Mar-a-Lago, the oceanfront estate of billiona

Only Donald Trump could turn an affair for children into an event about him and that is exactly what he did at yesterdays 139th White House Easter egg roll. “And we will be stronger and bigger and better as a nation than ever before. We are right on track. You see what’s happening, and we are right on track” was Trump’s uplifting message for the crowd of children, adults, Elmo and the Easter bunny.

There is no way anyone could be President of the United States and not have an ego. Self-confidence would need to be skill number one on the resume of any person considering making a run at the job. In my lifetime I can’t think of any President that was a shrinking violet, maybe Jimmy Carter would be the closest. But I am not sure we have ever experienced such an egocentric person as Donald Trump.

It takes a very special breed of animal to live their life in the limelight. Some crave it. Others simply view it has an occupational hazard. Some people spend their lifetime trying to attain fame and glory while others spend every waking moment trying to escape it. Stardom has destroyed families, marriages and worst of all, lives.

I have served on several high-profile boards and commissions in my community. I have said and done things that have gotten me in the paper. Some good, some bad. But these flirtations with fame or notoriety never fueled a desire for more. Actually it fueled a need for none at all. About ten years ago I quit all of what I would deem to be public responsibilities and focused solely on more personal and intimate volunteer opportunities such as Meals on Wheels and Habitat for Humanity. I don’t get a plaque for serving a hot meal to shut ins, I don’t get my picture in the paper for hammering nails in someones first home. What I get isn’t important because I don’t do it for me and that has made all the difference in my life.

Right now our President is waging many battles but the biggest battle is within his own head. As hard as he tries to convince us and himself that we love and support him the truth is ripping his ego to shreds. His numbers aren’t good despite his claims and insistence that what we are seeing and reading is simply “fake news”. He still maintains a small army of supporters but even those died hard fans are becoming disenchanted. Yes, he will organize and attend rallies in friendly, pro-Trump cities once a month to boost his ego despite the fact that he has yet to tour an area of the country ravaged by floods, fires or tornadoes like his predecessors did. And yes, he will continue to spend most weekends in Mar-aLago costing tax payers millions of dollars (estimated to be $25,000,000 to date) because that is where his people are, his kind of people, the people who truly feed his ego.

Wheeling_West_Virginia

Wheeling, West Virginia got him elected, a place he loves to stand on the stage and view a sea of red hats for an hour or two. But he is not Wheeling, West Virginia. Trump doesn’t have dirt under his manicured fingernails. He has never sat under an oak tree late in the evening in an old metal lawn chair with a lukewarm Milwaukee’s Best in his hand. He has never changed the oil in his lawn mower or climbed-up a ladder and cleaned the gutters of his home. Trump is Mar-aLago and I bet Wheeling, West Virginia is beginning to figure that out now.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The head egg

  1. Nan says:

    Speaking of red hats, there was a video on Facebook that compared Obama and tRump’s actions at the annual Easter egg event. It showed Obama hugging and talking with the children. Then at the recent one, it showed some kid asking tRump to sign his red hat. All smiles, he signed it with flourish … then tossed it into the air! What a Class-A Jerk! (And I’m being nice.)

    This man has absolutely NO regard for anyone (especially women) except himself (and to a slightly lesser degree, his grown kids). He is an insult to the human race and people that are blind to this fact need to take off their rose-colored glasses.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Patience! He has lost his support base on domestic policy except for the Evangelicals (they got what they sold their souls for with Gorsuch). He has failed the “imprison Hillary” people, the “wall people”, the “trash Obamacare” people, the “Muslim registry” people and he is afraid to move on to revising the tax code for fear of another defeat. His ego can’t handle all this disobedience from his subjects so he is moving internationally playing with his military toys. I wish he’s just focus on playing with little Donnie….I’d feel safer going to bed at night!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Wheeling, West Virginia “: I know that’s from a song, but I’m drawing a blank. Help a brother out.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “From the town known as Wheeling, West Virginia, rode a boy with a six-gun in his hand…” – The Ballad of Billy the Kid, Billy Joel. (I cheated and Googled it; was driving me nuts!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

