Donald Trump fatigue

andrew-jackson-9350991-1-402

Many years ago, back when I owned my own business, there was an old guy that sold advertising for a “business” magazine that looked like it was created on a typewriter and copier, this is to say it didn’t look very slick or professional. I let this guy put a couple of copies of the magazine in my lobby each month but I didn’t advertise with him despite his monthly sales pitch every time he came by.

After about two years and twenty-four or so request I finally told him I would advertise with him once and see if I got any calls from the ad. Honestly I was tired, tired of seeing him in my office every month, tired of hearing his sales pitch. He struck me as a sad little man selling the lest sexy of all the advertising mediums, a homely magazine. I admire his continued persistence but wearing me down, at least too me, was no way to make a living.

The $500 ad generated, as I expected, not one call or inquiry. What was even more interesting to me was once the old guy dropped the magazine off with my ad in it I never saw or heard from him again. It was almost as if he knew what the outcome would be. I paid the guy $500 to get him out of my hair and now he was wearing someone else out for their $500. His sells method wasn’t about persistence it was about fatigue, be so annoying that people are willing to pay something, anything to simply keep you away from them.

I have Donald Trump fatigue but what I can’t determine is what am I willing to pay to keep him away from me. Over the last 48 hours we have seen him stumble around the facts of the Civil War, and Andrew Jackson which he tried to make right in a tweet yesterday, “President Andrew Jackson, who died 16 years before the Civil War started, saw it coming and was angry. Would never have let it happen!”, walk-out on an interview with CBS when pressed about the Obama wiretap, confuse rather than clarify the Republican’s stance on the healthcare plan, and give some sort of crazy, backhanded praise to Kim Jong Un.

At first I simply thought the man was just talking out of his ass, that he simply loved the sound of his own voice hence why he couldn’t tell the difference between fact or fiction. Certainly, despite his Daddies money, he didn’t get to where he is by being a complete moron. But the more I listen to and watch him I have begun to wonder if his intellectually sharp days are well behind him. I am by no means a scholar on Andrew Jackson or the Civil War, though President Jackson was born in my home state and like any good southern boy I have read a book or twelve about the “War of Northern Aggression“. But there is a big difference between me telling my buddy some “bullshit” fact at McDonald’s than creating some nonsensical piece of fiction for an audience of millions that honestly had zip, zero relevance to the subject at hand other than Trump hearing himself speak about some long dead President that he “thinks” he is trying to emulate.

If you haven’t noticed by now, this President isn’t and hasn’t moved this country forward, in my opinion, one inch. He has in fact moved us backwards on many important issues not the least of which is the environment. The vast majority of his photo oped Executive Order signings are just studies and declarations, staged events which give the appearance of action. Some of them have been very damaging while others are simply redundant confirmations of existing policies.

I have resisted saying this but mentally I am not sure he is all there and that really worries me. He has already confirmed that the job of being President is harder than it looks and certainly harder than he expected. He is a 70-year-old man not in, what I would describe, the best physical shape. At 56 I can do most of what I could do at 30, just not as hard or as fast and I am in pretty good shape for 56. I need more rest, less beer and more water now than I needed 30 years ago. Mentally I have slowed down as well, I take a little longer to deliberate on things. I can only imagine the physical, mental and energy changes I will experience in 14 years at 70.

Our President says some crazy shit, that’s not new, but now the crazy shit has weight, the weight of the office. When he says, about Kim Jong Un that; “At a very young age, he was able to assume power. A lot of people, I’m sure, tried to take that power away, whether it was his uncle or anybody else. And he was able to do it. So obviously, he’s a pretty smart cookie.” he glosses over the fact that the way he prevented people from taking “that power away” is that Kim Jong Un and his father, and his grandfather had them killed which includes uncles, other family members and most recently his half-brother. Yes if that is our Presidents notion of a “pretty smart cookie” God helps us all.

I have Donald Trump fatigue but what am I willing to pay to keep him away from me. Should I treat the next four years like groundhog day, pop my head out on November 3, 2020 and hope I see my shadow? Should I continue to write about all the crazy shit he does or says and develop a stomach ulcer in the process? In the meantime we will have to endure four years of monthly rally’s to boost his ego and four more years of Bikers for Trump cracking few protesters heads at these rally’s (Trump rally altercations could add to legal woes). Four more years of alternative facts and just plain fiction. And four more years of going backwards based on what I have seen in his first 100 days. The man is making it up as he goes the question is, what will it cost you and I to keep him away from us?

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Donald Trump fatigue

  1. I don’t want four years living with this fear of ever increasing violence as he pisses of certain countries and makes frightening alliances with others; living day to day, wondering if today is the day he signs away my already subjectively applied and in some cases, limited rights as a human in this country (and the world) and it’s either do what I’m told or be killed. I don’t want to ease into my fifties transitioning to life in a dystopian society on a planet that is no longer able to sustain life. Every day that man and his like are in power is another day I live in fear and a growing sense of hopelessness. Sigh. Perhaps if we took up a collection we could provide him with enough incentive to give up the position altogether and find someplace else to be – an early retirement package so to speak. Corporations do it to their long standing, some what aged employees all the time.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Nan says:

    And now he wants to change the Constitution!!??!

    I seriously think this guy just wants to “stir the pot.” He’s undoing everything Obama did (for spite?), praises the a-holes of the world, removes anything related to saving our planet, chooses ignoramuses for cabinet members, makes asinine and/or ridiculous statements about anyone that disagrees with him, works a reduced schedule (to relax from the “hard work” of being President?) … need I go on?

    I have NEVER wished misfortune on anyone, but …

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Listen up! I’m older than any of you guys and have watched the dumbing down of America over the past decades. He was elected by the most stupid, most devious, most self-centered, most avaricious electorate in the history of America. Smell the coffee. Rabble rouse all you want, my friends. His deplorables still love him AND THEY ARE VERY MUCH LIKE HIM. He remains the biggest show in town with every newscast, national and international, following his every word and idiocy. The egomaniac has what he always dreamed of having…..the world’s biggest spotlight shining on him. And he will continue with everything we all detest as long as that spotlight stays on the Big tRump (thanks Nan, I still love your spelling). Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to brew my green tea and prune juice nightcap.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Nan says:

      ‘Welcome, Larry — although I can’t take credit. Another blogger who goes by the name of “inspiredbythedivine1” is my source. Whether he’s the originator, I don’t know. In any case, it does fit, doesn’t it?

      And yes, I totally agree with your comment. I also think that down deep tRump is a very needy man. He may be “successful” in the eyes of the world, but I don’t believe this has satisfied his craving for “love” and attention. I think this is why he keeps Ivanka so close-by … because she is the only one who sets him on a pedestal and makes him feel worthy. ( I also tend to think the fact that Melania stayed in New York bothers him immensely.)

      OK. Enough psychoanalyzing for today. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Will this be Trump’s Watergate? | Ends and Beginnings

Leave a Reply

