Take a deep breath

you're fired

“Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth.” – Buddha

Tuesday nights during the Spring and Summer are pedaling nights. Although it was very humid and a tad warm, although the wind was blowing 10-15 mph with 20 to 25 mph gust, my fat ass needs to pedal so I pedaled.

I got a text about mid-way into my 30 mile ride. I have my wife, who was with me, and kids setup on distinctive rings and dings so I can ignore all the other random calls and texts I receive when I am out cycling. When I got back to the car I looked at my phone and saw a text from a somewhat “friend” and Trump supporter. The text read “Winning” with a link to the USA Today article about Trump firing Comey. My first reaction, as the sun was sinking, with my legs aching, covered in sweat, was “Damn”. We picked-up a couple of salads for dinner and rushed home to watch MSNBC.

Now, given how Director Comey handled the Hillary Clinton email debacle days before the election I was already not a fan of his. I disagree with Senator Lindsey Graham’s assessment that neither the Russian email hack or Comey’s mishandling and public statements changed the outcome of the election. I contend that they did affect the outcome but at this point that is water under the bridge. Comey had his issues but what bothers me most about his dismissal is the optics of how this all went down.

We all know what Trump’s catch phrase was on his television program The Apprentice, “You’re Fired”. This was both the highlight and the spectacle of the show, Trump sitting at the head of massive boardroom table pointing his finger at the doomed contestant. Comey was fired when he was out-of-town, speaking to FBI agents in Los Angeles as television monitors behind him ran breaking news crawls about his dismissal. If it seems like a chicken-shit way to fire someone, particularly from a guy who gloated on television for millions of viewers by uttering the words “You’re Fired”, it is.

So what does all of this mean? Honestly I am not sure yet. Former Director Comey can still share with any investigating committee what he knows and I would suspect he will. But it is very easy to be suspect of both the timing and the reason, according to the Trump administration Comey was “unfair” in the way he treated Hillary Clinton, of how this all went down.

What can we do? The last line of defense for each of us is our Senator(s). Yes the FBI was an important component of the Trump-Russia investigation but they were just the fact-finding arm of this inquiry. Ultimately any decisions or actions will be made in the Congress and the Senate. Again, the optics of all of this look pretty crappy and honestly scary. This was and is an unprecedented removal and certainly has a stench hanging over it.

First, write your Senator(s). Tell them it is time for an independent investigator or commission to look into Russia’s efforts to disrupt the election and any connection between President Trump, his associates and the Russian government. As I have posted previously this investigation could drag on for years, right up to the next Presidential election. We don’t need that, we don’t deserve that and we can’t afford that.

Second, now is the time for the “Fake News” to shine, time for them to keep digging. Trump is going to continue to discount the facts they uncover and report. He just did an hour ago; “The Roger Stone report on @CNN is false – Fake News. Have not spoken to Roger in a long time – had nothing to do with my decision.” Watergate was uncovered by the “Fake News”. Mike Flynn was uncovered by the “Fake News” and I am pretty confident the “Fake News” will shine a light and uncover whatever it is that Donald Trump is hiding. The question is, do we, the people, have enough energy, anger, and focus to force our representatives to do something about what is discovered?

Third, take a deep breath. Donald Trump is not a King nor does he have a dictators power. It may seem like it, he may act like it but he doesn’t. Certainly he gives the appearance of consolidating his power by placing his “people” in key roles but what will ultimately take Donald Trump down is what has taken millions of powerful men down since the beginning of time, his ego. Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long for that happen.

“It is not power that corrupts but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it and fear of the scourge of power corrupts those who are subject to it.” – Aung San Suu Kyi

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Take a deep breath

  1. Suze says:

    My very first thought upon hearing the news that Mr Comey was fired was “OMG, It is Richard Nixon all over again!”. Already the senators are discussing the “special prosecutor” position in reference to the Russian problem. Here we go. Prepare for Watergate II………..

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nan says:

    I really wonder how much more of this debacle I can stand! He’s most definitely taken his trademark saying to heart, hasn’t he? Third person so far …

    You wrote, “… now is the time for the “Fake News” to shine.” Problem is, they most likely will continue to focus on the faults and foibles of our crazy leader rather than on the ISSUES (i.e., Russia) … which is what urgently needs to be at the forefront (and which tRump is trying to hide).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. JJS says:

    I feel as though “liking” this post is not quite appropriate. But I sure do appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

