Life goes on

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” – Robert Frost 

 

I ran into a lady yesterday I hadn’t seen in years. She was the office manager for one of my clients. Over the course of several years waiting in the reception area, I got to know this lady and a little about her family. Unlike so many other “gate-keeper” types for successful business people I always found her very polite and engaging. Honestly I got to the point where I would rather talk to her than my client.

I recognized Janice immediately and introduced myself to her again. I remembered that she had two daughters, both attending the high school that my kids would eventually go to, and asked how they were. She said the oldest was married, living in Atlanta and had two boys, 4 and 2. Her youngest was married, lived in-town and just had a baby girl. She was the grandmother of three she beamed.

For whatever reason this revelation stunned me. How could her kids be that old? How could this pretty lady be a grandmother of three? It seemed like just yesterday that I was sitting in the lobby chatting with her about high school, prom and college visits. But it wasn’t yesterday.

She said she left my clients company 16 years ago, after her oldest graduated from high school. Her girls were 34 and 32 years old. I smiled and said, “Where has the time gone?” and she gave me a wonderful but very simple response, “On”.

I have a little leather business card holder that I keep in my car but rather than business cards it is filled with pictures of my kids, from infant through middle school. When I was younger and having a rough day I would pull those pictures out and remember why I got up that morning and put on a coat and tie. But I can’t do that anymore. I look at those pictures now and turn into a blubbering idiot. The spectacle of a 56-year-old man sobbing in his car is not a pretty sight.

The emotion I feel when I look at those pictures is not sadness or at least it shouldn’t be. It is more a realization that things have changed and continue to change and I have absolutely no control over that change. Life goes on, whether I decide to participate or not. Life goes on, whether I decide to be engaged or not. Life goes on.

I told Janice goodbye and said I hoped we didn’t wait 16 more years to run into each. She laughed and said, “Well if takes that long I will be 80. I hope you will still recognize me”. I smiled, gave her a hug and left.

Where has the time gone? On, whizzing by us like a swarm of bees. We think we can corral it, control it or even slow it down, but we can’t. Time doesn’t care if you are rich or poor, Republican or Democrat, it treats everyone the same. Cherish the time you have, cherish the time you have with the people you love and accept the fact that life goes on with or without us.

“The butterfly counts not months but moments, and has time enough.” – Rabindranath Tagore

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Life goes on

  1. Nan says:

    One of the constants of our existence …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d love to be able to slow it down, stop it, rewind it, but unfortunately, none of those options are available. I’ve lived nearly fifty-eight years attached to a jet pack, it seems; it’s gone SO fast.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like this!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ms. SG41 says:

    It’s crazy how much more important time gets as we get older. I had dinner with my mom yesterday, and I was struck by the thought that our time together here on earth is getting shorter. I can’t imagine life without her, and it makes me sad. I don’t spend my days thinking that way, but once in awhile it hits you right in the face. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Greatestblog says:

    well that is numerously not only inspirational but also educative.I love it!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. manqindi says:

    Great quote brother!
    We are at opposite ends of the seasonal year, but the Spring/Autumn seem to have the same effect: http://sillysocksonfriday.com/2017/05/12/autumn-leaves-one-for-my-brother-he-aint-heavy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kate says:

    We were watching old movies the other day. My youngest child is 15 and he is now the tallest member of the family. It almost doesn’t seem real when for so many years he was always the smallest. Time goes too fast…it makes me a little mushy to look at pics of my kids when they were little.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Patty says:

    Another beautiful message, love it.
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

