The tail of a wasp

wasp

For the last week or so this wasp has been building its nest in the corner of our portico. I don’t know much about wasp or Entomology but I do like bugs and what I know about this busy lady is she will sting you so I give her lots of room.

As I am sure you have seen before this impressive nest stated as a twig attached to the ceiling and has morphed into this, cells waiting for eggs. My dilemma is this, she is building it outside my front door and depending on how big and busy it gets, this Queen and her posse could cause a lot of anxiety for my wife, our guest and the cat. I probably should just remove it now and give her the opportunity to find a less evasive and more private spot to set-up shop. But I have enjoyed watching her work and I am fascinated by both her precision and the process.

For any of you that have lived a sheltered life and have never incurred the wrath or the sting of wasp it is easy to lump this creature in the same category with snakes and scorpions. But they have a purpose beyond frightening and tormenting us. A purpose that is hard for us to discern beyond their stinger.

When I was a teenager I helped my Grandfather remove the metal roof of an old chicken house he wanted to burn down. He was no longer keeping chickens and the building had become a refuge for skunks that his German shepherd just couldn’t seem to stay away from. Every time I pulled a piece of the metal off the edge of the roof I stirred up the wasp nesting below. I was twenty feet above the ground, on a hot metal roof in August with no place to go so I got stung, a lot.

My Grandfather told me to hold my breath and they wouldn’t sting me, which sounded like a crazy talk. So there I was, holding my breath getting zapped again and again. I said Pop that didn’t work and he said “Yea, I always thought that was a load of crap”.

You and I share this world with this busy lady. She is not bothering anyone but she is in our way, colliding with our world and invading “our” space. But it is her space too, and honestly it is probably more her space than it is ours. I may regret it later but I am going to leave her alone and hope that she builds a small nest rather than an apartment complex. My wife my force me to “fix” the wasp problem later but for now it is not a problem because in the end we will be the problem, not the wasp.

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The tail of a wasp

  1. manqindi says:

    Good story! As kids we would take baby paper wasps out of their nests (looked like your one).
    Paper wasps were bigger than the little yellow fellas and less ornery. We fed them sugar water, tied cotton around their waist and took them to school to show off.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. William Tell says:

    She has all of creation available wherein to build her brood. You have only one doorway.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with your wife. I have a phobia about stinging insects from childhood, and I say, make that sucker relocate. Preferably to someone else’s house!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patty says:

    Well, I definitely would relocate it. My dogs aren’t, but my father’s dogs are allergic and already one had to go to the vet last Sunday. If any of your guests (human or animal) happens to be allergic, you don’t want that ‘on you’. RELOCATE, despite the beautiful message of this post 😉
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

