Let it rain….

“If the rain comes, They run and hide their heads, They might as well be dead, If the rain comes, If the rain comes” – The Beatles, Rain

It started raining Saturday night, rained all day Sunday, took a short break Monday, and it is raining again today with a promise of more tomorrow. I am not complaining. I love the rain. My garden loves the rain. My grass, shrubs and trees love the rain. Let it rain.

I ran into an old friend last week. Catching up, he told me his youngest son had recently moved to the state of Washington. He had been there for three months and it has rained everyday except for five. His son moved across the country, away from Mom and Dad, because he had heard about all the wonderful outdoor activities, and coffee Washington state had to offer. So far, he has only been able to enjoy the coffee.

I understand how easy it would be to get sick of the rain, but after last summer, when it didn’t rain once for over two months, I say let it rain. My yard and garden were devastated by the drought. I lost several ancient azaleas and two more dogwoods. The grass in my yard turned brown and my garden simply dried up and disappeared. There is no way to combat 95 degree days and zero moisture. My wife insisted that I water the front yard but even those efforts failed. A garden hose and sprinkler are a poor substitute for gray clouds, lower temperatures and a steady rain.

As I look out my window, watching a bright red cardinal pick out his favorite seeds in the bird-feeder, the Zoysia that stretches across my front yard is a deep green and lush carpet. The soft rain that patters outside makes everything look fresh, new and green. This is the perfect kind of rain, slow, and steady. A rain to nap by or read a book. A rain with rhythm, dancing on the window sill.

June is just around the corner with July and August to follow which mean months of heat. I am hopeful that this wet beginning will follow us through to September. The dry summers we have had over the last three years have been stressful and harmful for many as well. I will miss my bicycle ride tonight because of the rain. But that’s okay, my legs could use the rest and my tomatoes will soak up the moisture. Let it rain.

“The best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain.” –  Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

A poem: I am the rain

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let it rain….

  1. Used to hate rain when I was a kid, ’cause I couldn’t play outside. Now, I welcome it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the rain. Years ago I lived in a mobile home with a tin roof porch. Some of my best writing (my opinion of course) occurred during the rain under that tin roof. Nice post my friend. Yes, our legs need to rest sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

