Hope for the next generation

Miss me yet

“Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.” –  Barack Obama

My oldest child is now out in the world, working, paying taxes, has a car payment and a mortgage. She has a good job, a professional job that required a lot of education and an advance degree. I am proud of her, no, I am very proud of her. She has worked hard to get where she is, but she is worried and that makes her father sad.

Recently we were emailing back and forth about her job, and the specialized area her work is involved in when she sent me this;  “I just have a bad feeling about the economy in general/the world is weird right now and who knows how we’re going to fare.” I wrote back that all you can do is work to make your piece of the world as pleasant and peaceful as it can be. If you have enough people join you, who are working on their own little piece, the numbers will add up. I assured her that I am working on my mine.

I thought about her angst and concern and it occurred to me that for all of her adult life Barack Obama had been her President, a man who preached hope rather fear, optimism rather than doom and gloom. Remember Trumps inauguration speech “Mothers and children trapped in poverty in our inner cities, rusted out factories scattered like tombstones across the landscape of our nation, an education system flush with cash but which leaves our young and beautiful students deprived of all knowledge. And the crime, and the gangs, and the drugs that have stolen too many lives and robbed our country of so much unrealized potential. This American carnage stops right here and stops right now.”

I am sure there are those of you that will say that Trump was simply pointing out the truths, the realities, the underbelly of an American society many of us bleeding heart liberals refuse to see or acknowledge. Me, I think he was playing to the fears of the people who got him elected.

I have decided that the people who elected Trump are the people who refuse to help themselves. They are attached to a dying life, industry and ideals and have refused to change, to adept, or modernize. They don’t like change. They are suspicious of anything and anyone new and as such optimism and hope are not part of their vernacular.

Think about it, Barack Obama was a successful black man with a Muslim sounding name. A cheerleader who assured us that everything would be okay. A man who dug America out of the depths of a damn near depression not but telling us how bad everything is but how great we are individually and as a nation. Trump supporters don’t want to hear this. They want an old rich WASP to tell them what they believe, the world is changing and it is not for the better.

My pray is that Trump and his negativity will be but a small blip on the radar screen of America. That the optimism and hope of my children’s generation will outlast and outshine all the hopelessness and doom that Trump and his supporters have propagated. In the meantime, I will encourage my kids to keep their heads up, and their eyes forward. Look past all the hate and discourse being spewed by Trump and his supporters. We will Keep America Great, despite the efforts of “our” President.

“Now, as a nation, we don’t promise equal outcomes, but we were founded on the idea everybody should have an equal opportunity to succeed. No matter who you are, what you look like, where you come from, you can make it. That’s an essential promise of America. Where you start should not determine where you end up.” – Barack Obama

Want to see YOUR PRESIDENT in action?: Click Here 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hope for the next generation

  1. I have to agree with your sentiments here. While I can’t call out all those who voted for our current President, I clearly see the change in our country’s environment from hope to fear, civility to anger, inclusion to exclusion. While I am encouraged by the steps toward investigation and justice, I am at the same time discouraged by the budget, the AHCA and the move backward toward mass incarceration.
    I remain in prayerful hope that love, grace, mercy and justice will prevail and that, someday, enough voices will rise to return unity and peace to our country.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Spyro says:

    I also agree with your article – thank you. Trump’s voters are a sad and angry lot. Such lack of optimism, of understanding of the world (and I mean world) around them. They have been fed fear and hatred for years, and fear and hatred have become part of their DNA. My children have expressed similar sentiments to me. I worry about my children as you do; as we all do. I pray that the next generation is more compassionate and more forward looking than many in my generation are. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I loved the Obamas but never really considered the reasons for that devotion. You nailed it. The optimism, hope, inclusiveness, positivity, vision and intelligence……all opposite of what we now have in Trump and cronies and, sadly, a huge segment of America. I am trusting our under 30s crowd to put us back on course. Great reflections on a great President. Yes, Mr. Obama, we miss you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Obama family was my family. Too many people still see color and labels. I catch myself describing someone as a black guy or an Asian women. My kids will say why aren’t that just a man and a women why do you need to attach a color or an ethnicity to them? I do it because I am 56 and that is how I heard people described and sadly I have heard much worse labels, labels still used today by a segment of our population. Racism lives, racism will always live. It has survived for centuries it is up to each of us to acknowledge it but not participate.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Nan says:

      I’m with you, Larry. Some have said he didn’t do things politically/militarily that were in the best interests of America … and maybe they’re right. But as a Leader representing the United States of America to other countries, he was (IMO) unsurpassed.

      The bungling, stupid, self-absorbed simpleton currently holding that position is a disgrace … and every time he opens his mouth, he makes it worse. Yet the “deplorables” cling to him like fleas on a dog and defend him as though he were their long-awaited Messiah.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

