Civility

“You know what else they say about my people? The polls, they say I have the most loyal people. Did you ever see that? Where I could stand in the middle of Fifth Avenue and shoot somebody and I wouldn’t lose any voters, okay? It’s like incredible.” – Donald Trump

I wrote my first Donald Trump post on June 8, 2016. The post was about his insistence that he was going to build a wall on the Mexican border and make Mexico pay for it “I will build a great wall — and nobody builds walls better than me, believe me –and I’ll build them very inexpensively. I will build a great, great wall on our southern border, and I will make Mexico pay for that wall. Mark my words.”

The point of my post was that we are a nation of immigrants, unless you are a full-blooded native American. Somewhere in Trumps lineage a man and a women stepped over a border, or crossed an ocean or maybe even waded across a river to get here. I wanted to remind Trump of that. I wanted to remind all of the “Americans” of that. Instead, throughout his campaign, he worked people into a frenzy about all the “bad hombres” crossing the border intent on selling drugs to our children and raping our women. He built and continues to build the perception that “we” have some God-given sacred right to the soil beneath our feet. We don’t. But these kind of wild exclaims from his bully pulpit got him elected.

The events of yesterday magnify the discourse and divide our country is experiencing. It would be very easy for me to simply blame Trump for this but his words and rhetoric aren’t falling on deaf ears. He had an audience, an audience that agreed with him, that parroted his harsh words and contrarian views. His aggressive behavior during the campaign and as President has created an us against them mentality which he has continued to perpetrate and stir-up. And for those of us on the “them” side, in a red state, it is and remains a pretty chilling experience to live in a Trump dominated ideological world.

In Trump’s latest two tweets this morning about his Russia troubles and after his attempt at a bipartisan speech yesterday, “we are strongest when we are unified and when we work together for the common good”, he blames “them” and “people” rather than the Democrats, or Hillary, or Obama, or the Fake News as he did last week. I am not sure how long this bipartisan Kumbaya will last. Given his track record, and his base of supporters I would suspect not very long.

Civility is defined as formal politeness and courtesy in behavior or speech. For those of us in the “them” column I think we can all agree that definition would rarely, if ever, be used to describe our current President. But the troubling thing is, at least to me, his supporters don’t want it to define him. They loved it when Trump shoved Prime Minister Dusko Markovic from the tiny country of Montenegro out of his way. When he tweets about “Crooked Hillary” or when he calls Obama “soft”. They love that he pokes people in the chest and bully’s them. For his supporters that is what “acting Presidential” looks like. Is there any wonder the American divide is growing wider and deeper?

No I can’t blame all of our troubles on Trump he is simply the figurehead, the voice for a segment of citizens in this country. This bipartisan feel good dance won’t last long. Trumps supporters will make sure of that. And Trump will read their tweets, or watch Fox News and decide in a day or maybe a week that the bipartisan mourning period is over and return to what got him elected, “us” against “them”.

Trump Civility Update-it didn’t last very long;

“Why is that Hillary Clintons family and Dems dealings with Russia are not looked at, but my non-dealings are?” and “Crooked H destroyed phones w/ hammer, ‘bleached’ emails, & had husband meet w/AG days before she was cleared- & they talk about obstruction?” – Donald Trump tweet 6-15-17

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Civility

  1. Nan says:

    Sadly, I must agree with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know, I gave myself some space yesterday. My thoughts in the beginning were to simply rip Trump a new one for all the hate, and vile he has been spewing for the last year and a half. But in the end I couldn’t pin the actions of James Hodgkinson solely on Trumps shoulders. Hodgkinson was a sick man and what he did was not only wrong but a deadly crime that he paid for with his life.

      We will never know what was going through his mind and like the election, speculation can not and will not reverse the course of time.

      I pray that cooler heads will prevail. I pray that our Presidents, current and future, will be the President of the people, for the people. That may be, I am afraid, simply to much to ask right now in our current climate.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Uneducated Americans, fly-over Americans, angry Americans, Fox News Americans, old and bigoted Americans, rich, entitled Americans are not going away and Trump knows this: he will never resign and when cornered, as he increasingly becoming, he will extravagantly lash out — we ain’t seen nothin’ yet. It’s gonna get way worse before it gets better.
    Take care, Liberals, and watch your backs. A very respected Robert Mueller is pushing hard; I hope he’s watching his back and front…

    Liked by 2 people

    • He can’t prevent the downward spiral. He can yell, tweet and scream all he wants. His 35% may catch him before he hits the ground. They may put their little red baseball caps in a place of honor they may even have velvet Trump paintings hanging on their walls they got from Dolly World, but they can’t save him. His ship is sinking, fast and the rats will keep jumping off or drown.

      Like

  3. Suze says:

    It can not sink fast enough for me. I have had to back off from posting opinions in this format…mostly because I am not so much talking about doing something as actually doing something. Many others have also got off their sofas, turned off their TVs and are now doing something with me. I wonder why this country always seems towait till the last minute before involving themselves?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Trump is nothing more than an opportunistic showman who said “Oh shit, now what do I do?” on election night. After the shenanigans of the 2016 election, it is so hypocritical of Trump and his cronies to make the Virginia tragedy political fodder and call for unity. You and your readers want civility and sober thinking. We have to realize that much of today’s society doesn’t buy into that old fogey stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

