Why are we here?

I read the obituaries everyday, something that I have done for the last 30 years. But a couple of years ago the way I read the obituaries changed. Rather then looking for names I know or recognize now I look at the age (men only) of those that have passed and compare it to my age. For instance, Bud age 85 – 29 years older than me, Fred age 76 – 20 years older than me, David age 54 – 2 years younger than me. Yea I know, this is weird. My kids would categorize it as morbid but it all boils down to my fascination with living and why we are here.

If you ask a Christian “Why are we here?” you will get some long drawn out explanation about a relation with God, Yada Yada which I interpret as we are simply entertainment for the Big Guy upstairs. Part of me understands this. We are an entertaining lot. Have you seen our President? But for those of us that have our God uncertainties the question remains, “Why are we here?”.

As I look back over my 56 years of living and categorize what I have accomplished two things stand out at this point. One, I have been married to the same women for 32 years (God bless her) and two, we have created, together, two very smart, very worldly, very successful, independent women. Sure, I have had some business success, and civic success. I have a nice house, a few friends, a wonderful extended family, some fun stuff I own but other than my wife and kids is there really anything of lasting value to justify “Why I am here?”

Why do you think we are here? Why do some get to spend 100 years here and others 25 or less? Is it just a shell game? The luck of the draw? Are we really expected to make some contribution or is it okay, as Thoreau noted to “lead lives of quiet desperation.”  

It’s Friday, think about your answer if you need too. Have a beer, a glass of Merlot, smoke a joint and get back to me. I really want to know your thoughts. “Why are you here?”, “Why am I  here?”, “Why are we here?”  

“What is the meaning of life? Why are we here? Philosophers have pondered that question for centuries. I’m afraid the answer is disappointingly simple: Mating. That’s it.” – Oliver Markus

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Why are we here?

  1. Ms. SG41 says:

    When I get home, I will have a beer, glass of wine, smoke a joint, and then I will answer your question. After all that, however, I’m not sure my answer will make any kind of sense. Happy Friday!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Suze says:

    i was going to answer..but then I asked my hubby if he had a purpose here and what was it and he went into a long winded monolog that I have just escaped. Will answer later…I need this glass of wine first

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am here because the species I belong to is destined to evolve to the same level of intelligence and compassion as the alien creators who put our species on earth. The choice to participate in this evolution is up to me. I can wallow or I can soar.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Suze says:

    Okay, I bypassed the wine..as Larry knew I would since I have 42 years of sobriety under my belt….why am I here? To give birth to two wonderful men. To teach a small child how to jump into a mud puddle. To show people that being poor isn’t a life sentence, nor is it something to be ashamed of. To show it is possible to achieve long-term sobriety without becoming a self-absorbed, pedantic prick.To enjoy all of life, even the “bad” parts. To learn, expand my mind, recognize my soul and my connection to the planet. To argue. Definitely to argue. and argue some more.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. We must be here for the wine, beer and pot. Not sure if i am even here. Let alone be “here” to contemplate that, or if i am the imagination of the frozen fish quadrillion’s of galaxies “away” having a dream of being a tablet wondering why it is being randomly poked at, while its tail gets attached and detached depending on the volume of the icon in the upper right hand corner.

    Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. TCH says:

    Eckhart Tolle says we are here to grow and to learn, which I like. To evolve and to love. I’ve written my last three posts on this topic so feel free to stop by if you are so inclined. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. William Tell says:

    Decades ago, I settled on what I called “The Playground Model:” God created the cosmos basically as a vast playground where we could have fun and enjoy ourselves, and that’s it. Now, on the one hand, there are many ways of having fun, some more profound than others. On the other hand, in the real world, not all things that happen on a playground are necessarily fun.

    I am reminded of a commercial slogan dating from that same era. I listened to Orioles games on the radio a lot, and Continental Foods advertised heavily. They had a slogan that has obviously stuck with me to this day: “Enjoy life! Eat out more often.” Well, I surely hope to do so, but I’m still astonished they got away with putting that sexual reference on the air.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “You are the aperture through which the universe is looking at and exploring itself.” Alan Watts tells us.
    Works for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Patty says:

    You know, my dear Mr. Legend…Maybe it isn’t about the meaning OF life, but the meaning IN life and focusing on the latter will lead to meaning OF life. This thought was given to me a few weeks ago and I like it a lot…
    XxX

    Liked by 2 people

    • And I like it a lot as well Ms. Patty. Thank you for sharing it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Right, there’s no meaning to life if you don’t put it there. I grieve for the young people who flip endlessly, continuously, through their social media sites, seeming to do what? search for meaning? distraction? from what? the last post? I watched a 21-year-old scroll page after page, like she was in a trance. After five minutes I asked her, “Do you ever stop?” She said, “No.”
      I wanted to know her views on the recent election…she said zombie-like she was not political, had no intention of ever voting and seemed genuinely shocked to be told Trump might withdraw the U.S. from the Paris Climate Accord. (When he did I wonder if she remembered this conversation of many months ago.)

      Liked by 2 people

      • Both my kids are very good about living their own lives and not living vicariously through the lives of others. I reminded them very early on that their “friends” are only posting the good and the fun stuff. Any life, every life, contains both ups and downs. Sadly our society only focuses on the good, the enchanted aspects of living. When something bad happens to us it only makes the fall that much harder.

        Like

      • Patty says:

        Be careful not to generalize 😉 In this ‘blog-land’ I come across a lot of young people who do really care. However, I do get your point and yes; we have to put ‘it there’. To me a way to do that is to live and guide by example.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Belinda O says:

    I don’t know why we are here, but at some core level, we recognize life is valuable. I don’t know exactly what to make of that, except perhaps deep within in us is an understanding of the meaning of our existence, and we persevere for that reason.

    Like

    • But I wonder why others come to the conclusion that their life isn’t valuable or in the case of murder, war, other lives aren’t valuable.

      Like

      • Belinda O says:

        I believe depression has a tremendous amount to do with suicide, and in war, most who fight still believe lives are valuable, but their cause is more so. They are trained, brainwashed, into believing something contrary to what they normally value. As for murder, I don’t have an answer (not is my answer to war and suicide anywhere near sufficient), but I believe in the hearts of most people is an innate respect for life. Although even as I write this I can recall a sickening statement a coworker made that contradicts that belief. Something I won’t repeat here. So I don’t know.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

