“I just don’t want a poor person”

“These are people that are great, brilliant business minds. That’s what we need. That’s what we have to have. So the world doesn’t take advantage. We can’t have the world taking advantage of us anymore. I love all people. It rich or poor. But in those particular positions, I just don’t want a poor person. Does that make sense? If you insist, I’ll do it — but I like it better this way.” – Donald Trump at his ego-rally in Iowa Wednesday night

To those of us who aren’t big fans of “our” President it comes as no surprise that he held another ego-rally last night in “Trump Country”, Cedar Rapids, Iowa. It would also not surprise us that The Donald talked about his favorite topic in the entire world, wait for it, Donald J. Trump.

As usual his tweets reflect what is most important to him, again wait for it, him, “Great night in Iowa – special people. Thank you!”. In the meantime Tropical Storm Cindy has hit the Texas-Louisiana coast dumping heavy rains and causing massive flooding. What have we heard from “our” President about this? Nothing, zip, zero.

Trump has made no effort to be the President of the people, for the people of the United States. He has chosen his favorites, those that idolize and worship his every move and the rest of us are on are own. He is the wedge, the wedge that separates this country and he hammers it harder and deeper everyday.

At his ego-rally last night Trump defended his appointment of rich people on his cabinet, several of them Wall Street billionaires. “I love all people,” he remarked, “..rich or poor. But in those particular positions, I just don’t want a poor person.” For me maybe this would have been the kind of thought you had swirling around under your cotton candy hair but not one you actually verbalize in public, and certainly not one you would ever boast about.

I just don’t want a poor person.” In Donald Trump’s mind poor people are poor because they are stupid, or incompetent. Otherwise, they wouldn’t poor. Rich people are rich because they are smart or in his words great” with brilliant business minds”. For me this is simply one more wedge Trump is using to separate this country, the haves get more and the have-nots stay in the shadows.

I could write an entire post about all the lies and bullshit “our” President spewed at his ego-rally last night but there are plenty of websites you can google to fact check this one and his previous ones (once a month into his Presidency). But I just don’t want a poor person” really struck me last night. Maybe it is because I see the poor. I see them standing in the rain waiting on the bus. I see the kind of homes and apartments they are crammed into. I see the convenience stores they shop at for food because there are no grocery stores in their neighborhoods. I see the kind of jobs they are having to work because they don’t have the right tools or education to earn more than a minimum wage.

Poverty is a cycle and like the color of your skin, your sex, or your nationality, poverty discriminates. Breaking the chains of poverty requires help, support and opportunities. Poor people in this country don’t have a voice and they certainly don’t have an advocate or any representation at the top, I just don’t want a poor person”.

So as the poor continue to suffer and struggle in this country. As Tropical Storm Cindy floods and destroys the homes of both the poor and wealthy alike this is what “our” Presidents is worried about this morning per his tweet storm;

1. “Former Homeland Security Advisor Jeh Johnson is latest top intelligence official to state there was no grand scheme between Trump & Russia.”

2. “By the way, if Russia was working so hard on the 2016 Election, it all took place during the Obama Admin. Why didn’t they stop them?”

3. “…Why did Democratic National Committee turn down the DHS offer to protect against hacks (long prior to election). It’s all a big Dem HOAX!”

4. “…Why did the DNC REFUSE to turn over its Server to the FBI, and still hasn’t? It’s all a big Dem scam and excuse for losing the election!”

5. “I certainly hope the Democrats do not force Nancy P out. That would be very bad for the Republican Party – and please let Cryin’ Chuck stay!”

I am disgusted by what this man obsesses and cares about but we created him, you and I. We fed his ego. We allowed him to run over us. We held him up as a shinning example of what is so great about this country, the accumulation of wealth, trinkets and expensive toys. He is who he is because we encouraged it, we supported it, we cheered for it, we dreamed about it for ourselves, and now…….we are paying for it. May God have mercy on the blind, ignorant and deplorable souls of America.

“Most Christian ‘believers’ tend to echo the cultural prejudices and worldviews of the dominant group in their country, with only a minority revealing any real transformation of attitudes or consciousness. It has been true of slavery and racism, classism and consumerism and issues of immigration and health care for the poor.” – Richard Rohr

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “I just don’t want a poor person”

  1. My friend, you pack a book full into one post. Insightful, profound, convicting. Yes, the truth about us hurts. I should have been out there door to door fighting for the America I envision instead of working my butt off to attain equal status with the Joneses. Today I don’t give a rat’s ass about the Joneses and I hope it’s not too late. I love Richard Rohr, you turned me on to his site last year. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. P.S. Maybe Kim Jong Un isn’t as mindless as we think. He called Trump a psychopath. Takes one to know one, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anthony says:

    Your post was thoughtful and I wish I could write something encouraging for you. I wish I wouldn’t have to echo the words of Jack Dalton, the best cooler in the business, that things are going to get worse before they get better–I know, they’ve gotten worse and better does not appear to be around the corner.
    I could say sorry, but I doubt that apology will bring comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nan says:

    What is so very heart-sickening about “our” president is that his supporters are simply unable to see him for what he truly is. He can say or do anything and they remain behind him 100%. In fact, he could probably walk up to them, insult them face-to-face and they would agree with him (or shoot someone on main street). Why? Because they are so very desperate to see improvement in their lives they will swallow anything. OR … on the other end of the spectrum, they have so much “grain” in their silo (or pyramid), they want someone in control that will never open the doors and let any of it spill out.

    I know my views are slanted against him, but seriously. I simply can’t understand how people are so blind and deaf. I guess it has to do with what they see as self-survival. SMH

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Richard Rohr is one of the few Christian leaders who can still command respect and walk with his head held high. Irrespective of how I may feel about the Christian Right, my own mainstream Christian religion managed to encourage a majority to vote for Mr. Trump. Political views may warrant disagreement but how does any decent person, not perfect, want to imitate or encourage Mr. Trump’s lifestyle and I am not talking money. Much of Christendom should be walking stoop shouldered or perhaps on their knees. Distinguishing the sheep from the goats should be a simple task with this crowd.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Friar Rohr wrote a wonderful book called “Falling Upward”. If you haven’t read it I highly recommend.

      I agree with your take on “Christendom” and Franklin Graham should be at the head of the line crawling on his belly like the cursed snake “You will crawl on your belly and you will eat dust all the days of your life”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment