Privilege

Eric-Trump-Donald-Trump-Jr.

My wife is the daughter of a prominent Doctor in our community. My father in-law is a very compassionate, kind and humble man. He does not have a pretentious bone in his body. But because he loves to play golf he is a member of the local country club though he and his family don’t fit what I would describe as the “Country Club” profile or lifestyle.

Growing-up, my wife wasn’t a “Club Rat” as we call the kids of Club members. These kids spend all day during the summer and weekends at the Country Club, hanging out with the other private school, white kids of privilege playing golf, swimming in the pool, and charging food and drinks from the snack-bar to their Daddy’s “number”. They learn about life at the Country Club. They learn that there are people whose job it is to wait on and serve them. They don’t have to be nice to these people because their job is to make them happy. They learn that some kids Dads make more money than their Dad so their “stuff” is nicer than their nice stuff. And when they whine long enough to get their parents to buy them new nicer stuff the richer kids have moved-up to nicer, nicer stuff. They learn that Mom and Dad have their own social life which may or may not include making time for their children. Hey, you give them the use of a pool, game room, golf course and all the cheeseburgers they can stuff in their fat face, what else do they need?

I go to church with some of these “Club Rats”, these kids of privilege. If you lined ten kids up against a wall and let me ask each two questions I bet I could id the “Club Rats” based on their answers to my questions and what clothes labels they were wearing. I know the uniform and I know the attitude.

Not all kids of privilege turn out rotten. My wife turned out okay as did her siblings. But what I know and what I have seen is that these kids don’t get a realistic view of how the world works, it is a sheltered view, a very sheltered view that for many is continued all the way through college at private institutions named after dead presidents and civil war heroes.

Donald Trump, Jr. and his father are both products of this rich, conservative and colorless world. There are people put on this earth to serve and those to be served. The Trumps are in the “be served” category. In their mind there is a different set of rules that apply to them, a different set of standards from us common folk, the common folk that got him elected President.

When I read tweets from “our” President I always see those veins and threads of “privilege” in his remarks. I also see those attributes in his children which is to be expected, a privileged parent is going to raise a privileged child who will in-turn raise privileged grandchildren. It is a vicious cycle.

So what’s my point? As this Russia thing heats up with junior watch how he reacts to it. He will offer the same company line his father has, it is much ado about nothing because rules that apply to everyone else don’t apply to the Trumps, they are special. Wealth and privilege creates a different playing field and you and I aren’t allowed on that field unless of course we are bringing the Trumps a drink or a tray of hors devours.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Privilege

  1. bexybexybexy says:

    How sad to be so poor, that all you think you have to have is stuff and staff.
    Real riches can be counted on each and every breath:
    Each breath out “Loving”
    Each breath in “Loved”
    Each breath out “Loving~Loved~Loving~Loved~
    Loving~Loved~Loving~Loved~Loving~…~…~…~…~…”
    What poverty to inherit: The love of stuff and the use of staff.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Michelle & Jack – QUEST:THE HOME STRETCH

  3. Love this piece of writing. Great stuff. I linked to it today on a post I did. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patty says:

    True, but like you mentioned in your previous post…there are more people out there (rich and poor) with their hearts at the right place.
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

