A religious holiday not a political celebration

“And by the way, under the Trump administration, you’ll be saying ‘Merry Christmas’ again when you go shopping. Believe me. ‘Merry Christmas.’ They’ve been downplaying that little, beautiful phrase. You’re going to be saying ‘Merry Christmas’ again, folks.” – Donald Trump speech to the annual Boy Scouts Jamboree 7-24-17.

Many years ago my former business partner and I were meeting with a printing rep who was showing us cards to send to our clients. We had finally started making enough money to consider such a trivial item but my partner wanted a “Christmas Card” and I wanted a “Holiday Card”. The poor sales rep sat stoned faced as the two of us heatedly discussed the various card options. My former partner ended the conversation with “What f*cking holiday are we celebrating?” and walked-out. I smiled at the guy and told him “We will get back to you” and ushered him out the door. Unfortunately this wouldn’t be the last disagreement the two of us would have of this nature hence the term “former business partner”.

When my former business partner looked at his client list he saw predominantly male, exclusively white, and certainly, at least in his mind, Christian, basically him. My client list didn’t differ much from his except I was unwilling to make the call that all of my clients identified with the Christian faith. Rather than send a card, we both agreed to make a donation to a local non-profit in honor of our clients and sent them a note from the organization acknowledging the gift.

Several weeks after Christmas I was having lunch with one of my clients who mentioned receiving the note and thanking us for making the donation. It happened to be an organization he and his wife not only supported with their money but with their time as well. I told him the story about our disagreement over the cards and how I decided this was a better way to thank our clients for working with our little company.

After I finished the story my client smiled and said he agreed with my decision. He continued, “As a Jew (which I was unaware of) I am not offended when I receive a Christmas Card from business associates, hell we get a Christmas tree every year because it is fun for my family and less embarrassing for my children to have to explain to their friends why we don’t have one. I appreciate that you put some thought into the gesture and decided to be inclusive.”

That was almost twenty years ago. Since that time we have gone through a cycle of conservative thought, to liberal thought and back to conservative thought, the place we sit today. My client used the word “inclusive” not “politically correct”. In his mind there was nothing political about Christmas, it is a religious holiday not a political celebration.

I am a big fan of the word “inclusive”. Unfortunately America has a long history of withholding inclusivity and opportunities from certain groups and races of people. And now we have a President and supporters who prefer the word “exclusive”. In their view America is white, America is Christian, and America is conservative and it has always been white and Christian and they have wanted it back for the last eight years. Now they have a voice, a head of state, that supports and agrees with them and appears to hate President Obama, that black man with a Muslim name, as much as they do.

What I find most interesting about this situation is the hate, bigotry, and racism of Trump supporters all behind the facade of following Jesus Christ and sadly, they don’t attempt to hide their hate, their bigotry, or their racism. It appears to me they wear it like a badge of honor on Facebook and Twitter.

I asked in a post last week what we were going to do about Trump and his supporters? One of my wonderful readers, Barbara Carlson, answered the questioned beautifully; “What can we do? Find joy in small mercies in our daily life. Laugh. The world is still a beautiful place. Be thankful for what you have. Do better what you do best. Cherish the moments you have with your loved ones as if it is your last day on earth. Go for a walk. Look around you and not at a screen. Listen. Be quiet. Live in the moment for all we have is NOW. Be kind. Forgive. And, f**king vote.” 

That’s right f**king vote. Forget about impeaching Trump, with all of his issues he will crash and burn without our help. We need to cut his and his supporters power off at the knees by replacing right-wing, conservative members of Congress and the Senate with more moderate thinkers. How do we do that? F**king vote.

I am confident this short conservative political control cycle will be just that, short. But unlike the past I doubt it ever goes underground again. I doubt the racist and the bigots crawl back under their rocks. They simply have too much infrastructure in place. I truly believe the vast majority of Americans who thought they were voting for the great white hope realize now that what they got is the great white joke. Most of us already knew that in November, some people are just a little slower than the rest of us.

“IN AMERICA WE DON’T WORSHIP GOVERNMENT – WE WORSHIP GOD!” – Donald Trump tweet 7-26-17

U.S. Constitution- Amendment I

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A religious holiday not a political celebration

  1. Barbara’s advice is indeed spot on!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kudos to Barbara. Ironically, I arrived at same decision last night. Couldn’t sleep, got up and counted stars, realized that “this too shall pass” with or without me. There are more years behind me than ahead and I want to relish each remaining moment. But, I got one thing to say….”F**cking aye, right on Barbara.”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Nan says:

    You wrote: sadly, they don’t attempt to hide their hate, their bigotry, or their racism. It appears to me they wear it like a badge of honor

    I am “intimately” acquainted with one of those. It’s most difficult to hear some of the words that cross this person’s lips. And even though this person (at least at one time) “F**king hates” tRump, there seems to be ardent support for nearly everything he does. Argghhh!

    I wholeheartedly agree with Barbara. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Suze says:

    Bless you and Barbara..her for commenting and you for sharing her words. reblogging this.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Ends and Beginnings post shared. ⋆ Obsolete Childhood

  6. Patty says:

    Barbara is so right and so are you.
    Here in The Netherlands (and if I understood correct UK is already doing so) they are going to address travelers by train as ‘Dear travelers’ instead of ‘Ladies and Gentlemen’, to include people who don’t feel female or male. Like the card, it can be so easy to not only be polite, but acknowledge others just for who they are…
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

