Trump bans transgender people from all military service

LGBT-United-States-Flag

“Thank you to the LGBT community! I will fight for you while Hillary brings in more people that will threaten your freedoms and beliefs.” – Donald Trump Tweet 1:31 PM – 14 Jun 2016

One year later……..

“After consultation with my Generals and military experts, please be advised that the United States Government will not accept or allow Transgender individuals to serve in any capacity in the U.S. Military. Our military must be focused on decisive and overwhelming victory and cannot be burdened with the tremendous medical costs and disruption that transgender in the military would entail. Thank you” – Donald Trump Tweet 6:08 AM – 26 Jul 2017

Chaos, misdirection, and dysfunction. What are you going to do?

But whenever you enter a town and they do not welcome you, go out into its streets and say, ‘Even the dust of your town that clings to our feet, we wipe off in protest against you. Yet know this: the kingdom of God has come near.’ – Luke 10:10-11

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Trump bans transgender people from all military service

  1. William Tell says:

    Yeah, l’m sure this move destroyed all the support Trump had among trans people.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nan says:

      I certainly hope so! Since he’s going to run again (if we can’t get rid of him before then … *fingers crossed*), he’ll most certainly lose a few million votes. How sad. Too bad.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Suze says:

    When I heard his statement this morning my first thought was so morally incorrect I had to go calm down…

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Mama Cass says:

    Reblogged this on Aspen Tree Book Reviews and commented:
    I am so sad that our country has gone back apparently to the 1950’s. Women’s rights. voters rights, civil rights. Human rights. All going back in time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mwdunham says:

    The Luke scripture is timely and instructional. We’re spending a lot of time marching, writing letters, blogs, etc. Those things have their place. My dad was in the sit ins in Greensboro and I marched in Raleigh with the Moral Movement. But after that we have to turn to our communities and the underserved to serve them and build them up. I’ve been asking myself and in prayer where to focus my efforts. There’s an overwhelming need. I’m reminded to bring my two fish and five loathes and let God do the rest. In doing so, it does feel like not much is happening but by faith I’ll continue and keep look out for miracles.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. It would be “nice” to think his tweet / move, looking at it from a progressive view point is that he is protecting the LGBT from dying senselessly in some capitalist greed pig resource war.

    However, it is probably his homophobia and some simplistic need to hope his generals like him more by placating to their fears.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Daniel says:

    Nicely written. I think Trump is very worried about his imploding presidency, and this is just another very harmful distraction. Check out my thoughts: https://political-vibes.com/2017/07/27/distraction-via-social-war/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ariel Michelle Bailey says:

    As a trans navy vet, I was really disappointed with this.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Disgusting, pointless bigotry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

