His motive is unclear

“He was just a guy. Something happened, he snapped or something, he was just a guy.” – Eric Paddock, brother of Las Vegas gunman Stephen Paddock

I am tired of waking-up in the morning and hearing about another massacre. For the next week or two this will dominate the news and then sadly disappear. It will be forgotten by the rest of the nation except by those who lived through it until the next incident occurs.

All the networks will bring in their experts to analyze and dissect the who, what and why. Questions will be asked and answers will be theorized about. Gun rights will be debated as will the mental health of those buying weapons. The search will be for who and what can this be pinned on. What set this old white guy off? What was he angry about? Who was he mad at? What was he trying to accomplish? Why?

The Democrat, Republican, conservative, liberal, left, right, Trump, Obama blame has already begun. So has the where was God, it was God’s will, and God already knew game. Honestly, I don’t feel like playing any of them.

Here is what I know, one man has destroyed countless lives and families. His actions, in ten minutes, will reverberate for generations to come. He has altered future outcomes and the course of the universe with a flurry of bullets. Think about that. Children won’t be born because of this man. Common, everyday events won’t occur because of this man. College graduations, weddings, careers, hugs and kisses won’t happen because this man pulled a trigger. In my mind that is the real story, that is the tragic truth, that is the ripple effect this man has created. Do you feel it?

“The idea that everything is purposeful really changes the way you live. To think that everything that you do has a ripple effect, that every word that you speak, every action that you make affects other people and the planet.” –  Victoria Moran

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to His motive is unclear

  1. Scottie says:

    We feel a need to analyze these acts because we wish to stop them. IF we could figure out the whys, maybe we can deal with the how. Maybe. The fact is why and what causes these incidences are far more complex than one liners and single word labels. I do not have the answers, but I think that we can and should look at what other modern countries have done. I think that the solution will cover different disciplines and many fields of study. Plus the solution will take more than one approach, but a multiple of actions done in coordination.
    I wish we could say the human condition would prevent waking to these news stories ever again, but sadly we are animals, and some have less empathy and less control than others. Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My post, “Thoughts and Prayers…Then What?”, falls pretty much in line with what you’re saying here. This same stupid pattern repeats with every tragedy, and nothing ever changes. Time for that shit to stop.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Your post was terrific, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kate says:

    Your post is well stated. It is chilling and incomprehensible, the actions of this man. Are we justified to live our lives in fear, or do we live our lives like before? I have two kids, one in college, and one in high school. My husband and I try to keep our fears about the cruel world we live in to ourselves. Sometimes it is hard though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate, I am the father of two as well, both now 20 + year old adults. I think the cruel streak in the world has always existed except rocks and sticks have given way to automatic weapons. The common denominator in most horrendous acts are humans and that has always been the case.

      I wish we could be nicer to each other. I wish religion was a conduit for compassion. I wish our leaders encouraged togetherness.

      Hug your kids. Make sure they know that love and compassion is no match for hate and then hug them again.

      Liked by 3 people

  5. That was no ripple. A wave swept over me when I saw the news. I calmed myself: Thank God, it was a country music band or my son and his friends would have been there in that crowd.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We were created a violent species. History has proven that. Our survival depends on mastering the challenge of peaceful coexistence. Truly, it does. We have no other options. We get caught up in the heat of politics and social injustice, but a pursuit of active non-violence toward ourselves, toward others, toward the earth itself is the ultimate noble undertaking. My heart also cries with all of you.

    Liked by 5 people

  7. mwdunham says:

    Thank you those words on wisdom that act as a comfort in such a disheartening situation.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

