The Same Women

My wife and I just celebrated our 31st anniversary. 31 years with the same women or as she would say “31 years with this butthead”. Let that sink in for a moment. I have been alive for 55 years. So do a little math, for 24 of my 55 years I was single, or put another way I have been married for 56% of my life. Where has the time gone.

In no particular order here is what I have learned about marriage in 31 years;

  1. It’s hard, it gets easier, it gets hard again and then gets easier again.
  2. It’s all about give and take but not keeping score, don’t ever keep score.
  3. It’s about sharing the load, there is no such thing as their work or your work particularly when it comes to raising kids or chickens for that matter.
  4. Forgive each other, often, without being asked. Again without keeping score.
  5. Remember why you married each other. There was a reason. What was it?
  6. Marriage isn’t about gum drops and rainbows everyday. If you are expecting happiness and bliss 24/7 get a dog.
  7. Have faith in each other, trust may seem harder to reconcile at times, faith isn’t.
  8. He or she does things that annoy you, guess what. Again, don’t keep score.
  9. Time and attention are the greatest gifts you can offer. Don’t be greedy with either one.
  10. Marriage is a partnership, two equal halves making a whole. Equal, equal, equal……

I am sure I have forgotten something, just ask her. Got one or two you want to add fire away.

“We were married for better or worse. I couldn’t have done better, and she couldn’t have done worse.” – Henny Youngman

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Same Women

  1. Sounds like good solid advice to me !
    Congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cara says:

    Wow, 31 years. Congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tmezpoetry says:

    Beautiful, Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. samanthamurdochblog says:

    Congratulations! Lovely post and wise words.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 31 years surely calls for a celebration! Congratulations! Quite a list you have mentioned above! Good advice.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. beuhappy says:

    Love all this advice! Congratulations on 31 years!! I have been married almost 7 months.. Pure Bliss!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. All of them very true! Congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nicky M says:

    Fabulous post – marriage isn’t for the faint hearted and I agree with all you’ve said. It’s a game of two halves. Enjoy the next 31!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Patty says:

    Again Congratulations!
    Nr. 6….don’t get a dog either, get a fish 😉
    So true, all of your points. And may I add: communicate, communicate, communicate. As far as I know, most of us are no ‘mind-readers’.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. gapawa says:

    I had a dog and it was not bliss. But then again, I’m a cat person:) I’ve been with the same woman for 12 years. Well she kept the same name those 12 years anyway. If you treat your girlfriend or wifey as part of the universe, which is constantly changing, she can be a constant source of (good) amazement, just as if you were exploring new lands. Use a fresh pair of glasses every day, and you will see that she changes with the wind, as do you, as does the wind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment