The language of words

words

“It’s a candidacy without any parallel that I can recall. It’s content-free and very much given to stirring up envy and resentment and even hatred. And I think it would be a threat to the conduct of our foreign policy and our position in the world at large.” – Libertarian vice presidential candidate William Weld on his opposition to a Donald Trump presidency

I love words and phrases. I love how you can create a picture, or a point with just one, two or three words. When Mr. Weld called Mr. Trump’s candidacy “content-free” it summarized, with two simple words and a hyphen, how I feel every time Trump opens his mouth. For me, there truly is no content, or plan, or any real thought to what he says. The man simply loves the sound of his own voice.

I struggle putting words together sometimes, the thought I want to convey. I have the picture in my mind of what I want to paint and words are the colors I use to brush on the canvas. Occasionally I hit the mark, the idea simply flows through and I can prop it up with the Thesaurus turning a ten-cent word into a dollar. But often I sit and stare at the keyboard, waiting for the moment that inspiration strikes and hope that my gerbil size attention span will remember where I was going.

As much as I have despised some of the election rhetoric I have heard I have been fascinated by the language, the words that have bombarded us and the emotion those words have created. More than any other election that I can recall we have been subjected to words that not only speak the truth but also deflect from the truth. Words that direct and words that misdirect. You know by now that I am not a fan of Trump but I have come to realize that even with his very limited vocabulary (“knows all the words, all the good words” as he likes to say) he is able to convey a message that a certain segment of our population WANTS to hear. Some would call that a gift, I call it lazy but effective.

So please know that I appreciate the handful of you that continue to read what I write. My audience ebbs and flows depending on the subject matter but I always enjoy the feedback, both good and bad. In seven months I have published 312 posts, and I would guess roughly 125,000 words. They may not always be the right words, they may not always hit their mark, or convey the right sentiment or emotion but I have certainly enjoyed the exercise of finding them and sharing with you.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The language of words

  1. Agree with this post so much!! Words are incredible! And wow that’s an amazing number is posts- keep at it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. I’ve been at this for nearly seven months, myself, and I just published my 50th post! I’m impressed. Keep up the good work. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patty says:

    And still can’t believe its just 7 months you are writing here…
    Already eager to read the next 312 posts (no pressure…secretly a whole lot of pressure).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Yes time flies, and the older I get the more it flies by.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Patty says:

        You know, I wonder a lot lately why that is…Is it because we realize our end is closing in?
        I heard a woman say on tv the other week (an actress, tv-host and now published a one-time magazine with the topic Death) she refuses to think about dying and she thinks it helps her live longer…Interesting thought, although I have a feeling she is fooling herself…

        Liked by 1 person

        • I am just the opposite, I think about dying everyday which I believe helps me get more at of the moments I have left. Unfortunately my wife and kids don’t share my same “morbid”, as they call it, sensibility.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Patty says:

            Hm. Maybe we should find a balance between kidding yourself and being morbid? Damn..that balance thing again!

            Liked by 1 person

          • It always comes around to balance. I don’t consider talking about death as morbid. I have yet to met anyone that has figured out a way to get around it. It is in front of each of us. Why not acknowledge it and accept it?

            Liked by 1 person

          • Patty says:

            Well, there is the possibility of freezing yourself…
            I agree, acknowledge and accept it..However, maybe because I am a woman too, to talk about this topic on a daily basis…Not looking forward to that either.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Unless your heart is beating and your brain is functioning while frozen, you are dead and cold I might add. Death is not a topic that I speak of everyday, I simply acknowledge that my, our, time here is not infinite, why live your life like it is? Why treat people bad like you will have time to right any wrong?

            Liked by 1 person

          • Patty says:

            Yeah, my thoughts exactly about that frozen stuff.
            Why NOT live your life like it is? Maybe your body will not always be able to keep up any longer, but that doesn’t mean you have to sit down behind the window (or at the steps) of your house, watching the world go by either. Yes, I agree, we should paste our self every now and then, but I also think we shouldn’t be afraid to go on new adventure, just because we get older and/or life isn’t infinite.
            As I am writing this…I get the feeling I complete misunderstood you…

            Liked by 1 person

          • Yes, go on a new adventure. I am headed for one today, spending the weekend riding my bicycle in the mountains. I have no agenda, no hurry, no real plan, other than to pedal, eat, drink and repeat. I will also stop and look and take in my surroundings because, and here it gets morbid again, I might not be here next month, or next year to do it again 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • Patty says:

            🙂 Got it ! Enjoy – and I am sure you will – the ride. XxX

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

