Are things coming to head or is this just another waste of time

So our President woke up this morning with itchy twitter thumbs;

“James Clapper and others stated that there is no evidence Potus colluded with Russia. This story is FAKE NEWS and everyone knows it!”

“The Democrats made up and pushed the Russian story as an excuse for running a terrible campaign. Big advantage in Electoral College & lost!”

“The real story that Congress, the FBI and all others should be looking into is the leaking of Classified information. Must find leaker now!”

“Just heard Fake News CNN is doing polls again despite the fact that their election polls were a WAY OFF disaster. Much higher ratings at Fox”

And the newest and apparently unsubstantiated Trump revelation;

“What about all of the contact with the Clinton campaign and the Russians? Also, is it true that the DNC would not let the FBI in to look?”

I wish I was smart enough to understand what our President’s strategy was with this tirade but apparently I am not. My guess is that given that the FBI Director is meeting with the House Intelligence Committee today he is trying to drive the storyline and divert attention off the Russians, and wiretaps to Fake News, leaks and how hard he is working to “Make America Great Again” for you and I. The question is, are you still buying it?

Gallup Poll, an organization I hope we can all agree has the respect of most American citizens and groups just released their latest numbers on President Trump’s approval ratings; only 37 percent of Americans approve of the job our President is doing, and 58 percent disapprove. These are the worst ratings since he took office eight weeks ago. His approval rating stood at 45 percent just nine days ago.

What does all this mean to the 37%, Joe and Josephine Six Pack living in Beckley, West Virginia? What it tells me is that they are still hanging on, maybe by their fingernails, with their support of President Trump. But Richard and Rachel Merlot living in Raleigh, North Carolina, despite the raise in their 401 K, are having a tougher time staying on the Trump train.

Now this is just my hypothesis, I don’t live next door to the Six Pack’s but I know them and what I have noticed about them lately is this, they aren’t acting as froggy about their President as they once were. And the Merlot’s, well, the Merlot’s would rather discuss the weather than Trump.

My observation are based on this, I am very vocal in my disdain for the actions of our President much to the chagrin of my wife. Ask me for my opinion, or don’t and I will give you my thoughts on the Muslim Ban, the Wall, Healthcare or any other number of boneheaded actions or statements of our President. What I have noticed is this, Trump supporters are having a harder time defending the actions and the words of their President.

As I have said time and time again, I don’t need or want this guy to fail, but I do need for him to grow up. And sadly, his flurry of tweets this morning confirms, at least for me, he hasn’t and apparently has no plans too. There is a certain “seriousness” we expect from our President. Refusing to shake the hand of the German Chancellor was not only childish but also boorish. It sends a signal to the world of a bully in the sandbox unwilling to share his toys and play nice with the other kids.

Here is the thing, ladies and gentlemen, this committee hearing this morning is both unnecessary and a time waster propagated by our President and his thumbs. There are so many other important issues our representatives should be dealing with, but here we sit, cleaning up a mess our President created that he could clean-up himself by doing just three things, being forthcoming about his relationship with the Russians, releasing his tax returns, and turning off his smart phone and putting it in his desk draw for the next four years.

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Are things coming to head or is this just another waste of time

  1. WayneSMT says:

    I just had a disturbing thought. I have known for quite some time that every President since Kennedy has been pre-selected not elected. It may have appeared to be an election, but it just appeared that way. Is there any reason to think that our current President hasn’t been pre-selected as well? DHS stated over a year ago that they intended to massively ramp up detentions and deportations. Could DJT be following a playbook that was created years ago by others? Casting call: Needed bombastic method actor for POTUS role in 2016. Reality TV show experience is preferred but not required.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. William Tell says:

    “… turning off his smart phone …”
    It’s not a very smart phone.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Suze says:

    For some reason I always thought a “smart phone’ was smarter than I and i’d never be able to understand how to use one. I was so very obviously wrong in that assumption though since an idiot seems quite capable of using one. It may still be possible for his aides to hide the phone and possibly give the country time to take a deep breath……….no nevermind. I just remembered who he has surrounded himself with. sigh

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nan says:

    There is a certain “seriousness” we expect from our President.

    It continues to stun and amaze me that this bumbling childish narcissist continues to act like … a bumbling childish narcissist. Using Twitter to express himself? Good grief, Man! You’re 70 years old, not seventeen!

    Some say it’s all a way to distract us from the more “serious” stuff. And maybe it is. But a core part of me continues to hold to the opinion that he’s just a bumbling childish narcissist who simply is unable to survive without attention. Consider … he filed for early candidacy so he can continue to stand before his adoring crowds and feed his huge ego.

    Please gods. What did we do to deserve this?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Teflon Don Saga continues the fake news is true, the fake Don is a lie, the fake Don makes all the news slip off, while in office his sons make money for him and believe me the amount of people he meets gives him many opportunities to make deals his sons can make.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Joe and Josephine Sixpack….any relation to Max and Maxine Fullkeg from Eastbum****, Florida?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment