Stupid is as stupid does

“When you are dead you don’t know that you’re dead, but it’s hard for the people around you. It’s the same if you are stupid.”- Unknown

I am of average intelligences, not George Clooney handsome, average height, average width…..yea average would be an adequate description of who I am. I would also consider myself to be a pretty tolerant guy, middle of the road if you will in my views and beliefs. If you want to worship Zorbo the puppy god of the Ozarks, who am I to say you got it wrong. For all I know, you could be the only one that has it right.

But I do have a problem, actually a serious problem, I can’t tolerate stupid. Now this is not to say I have never done or said anything stupid, hell, writing this is probably stupid. I am sure, no I know, I did or said something stupid yesterday (ask my wife) and I am positive I will say or do something stupid today. But the difference between my stupid and the stupid of say Franklin Graham is when I do or say something stupid typically the realization is instantaneous, while it seems when Mr. Graham does or says something stupid he post it on Facebook. Case in point;

Franklin Graham-Facebook

March 1 at 3:55am

“The Girl Scouts organization sure isn’t what it used to be! St. Louis Archbishop Robert Carlson isn’t worried about being politically correct in letting people know about it either. He told church members and scout leaders that the Girl Scouts is wrong in their support of transgender rights and homosexuality and is not aligned with the teachings of his church. The archdiocese also revealed that a Girl Scout troop in Utah was formed specifically to reach out to transgendered youth and that the Girl Scouts celebrated the Supreme Court ruling on same-sex marriage on its Instagram and Twitter accounts. Archbishop Carlson is exactly right—the “ways of the world” are incompatible with biblical values. More church leaders need his boldness in speaking the truths that set those who follow God’s Word apart from the rest of the world. I don’t know about you, but I won’t be buying any Girl Scout cookies this year.”

Now I understand jargon such as “ways of the world”, “biblical values” and “God’s Word”. Unfortunately these kind of buzz terms are used to create a separation, an attitude of us and them one that I am sure God or even Jesus for that matter would not tolerate. But this is the kind of separation that creates power and fear, and for many that is what religion is all about, welcome the ones like you and I, scorn the ones that aren’t.

My God is not worried that I might buy my beloved Peanut Butter Patties from a transgendered youth. My God is worried about the 7 billion people walking on this earth with all matters of hurt, needs and hungers. My God isn’t concerned if you have accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, there are many paths to my God. My God loves you for who you are and how you are warts and all.

I am going to thank God for my Peanut Butter Patties and for the Girl Scouts who are opening doors to others.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stupid is as stupid does

  1. Pingback: God elected Donald Trump and I don’t feel so good myself | Ends and Beginnings

  2. Pingback: Franklin Graham’s groundhog day | Ends and Beginnings

Leave a Reply

