A Poem – Journey Forward

Moving through space, through shadows and light

Faces are familiar while becoming faint moments of the past

I turn and face south, the sun in my eyes of where I have been

The road beckons north, shorter, straighter but no less perilous

There are those that will join me to my journeys end,

Generations here and imagined that will advance my soul further,

A part of me as I am a part of those who came before me

Others are left behind, buried with memories filtered through tears

Thankful for their existence, fresh pictures of yesterday stored in boxes

I can’t escape the trip but I can dictate the pace,

Savoring each instant, each second, each day until night falls,

Where I will wait and rest for the next journey forward

An original composition by the author of Ends and Beginnings

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Poem – Journey Forward

  1. I love this poem. think I am currently waiting and resting for the next journey forward. I wonder what that will be?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment