Trapped in a spider’s web

spider web

I am OCD primarily about three things; a clean and organized car, a clean and organized garage and a clean and organized workshop. Notice a trend? All three of these are “my” space. I don’t worry about a clean house, clean sheets or clean towels, I have a OCD wife that takes care of that for us. It’s good to have OCD balance in a household.

Sunday morning, as I was surveying my neatly arrange garage though commiserating that I needed to sweep it out, I noticed a moth caught in a spider’s web under my hot water heater. It was a sad sight watching the moth struggle as the spider spun its web around it. If I didn’t intervene this would be a death sentence for the moth. Honestly even if I did help there would be no way to free the moth’s wings from the spider’s sticky thread. Either way, this moth was going to suffer. Nonetheless, I rescued the moth from the spider’s web. In my world we need more moth’s.

Human’s have a multitude of webs that entangle us, drugs, alcohol, money, sex, power, envy, ego you name the poison it can grab us, shake us, choke us and send us to our knees. The difference is we typically act as both the spider and the prey, though there are times we are caught in someone else’s web. Over the course of my fifty years I have been trapped in many of the webs that I have weaved myself. On top of my selective OCD I also have an addictive personality. If one slice of pizza is good five should be even better. If one beer mellows, I should be dancing after six. I have learned that finding, accepting and acknowledging the balance of life, balancing my needs and wants, pleasures and pain, is the key to keeping me from getting entangled in whatever web I or others have weaved.

Staying out of someone else’s web requires foresight, awareness and an acute understanding of our own weaknesses. If you are lonely, someone’s web of sex may seem like the solution but for those that have been trapped in that deceit you realize very quickly that the pleasure is short-lived as is the commitment.

I released a moth from certain death Sunday morning but in the end the spider will eventually win. It has built the perfect trap, in the perfect location. When it dies another spider will come along in its place. The only way we can avoid being trapped ourselves is to accept and acknowledge our weaknesses. We need to recognize that the webs that we spin and those spun by other spiders looking to wrap us up and keep us tied tightly are only giving us what we think we want. Finding the balance in living, understanding what you need rather than what you want is the best way to stay out of the spider’s web.

“Any act often repeated soon forms a habit; and habit allowed, steady gains in strength. At first it may be but as a spider’s web, easily broken through, but if not resisted it soon binds us with chains of steel.” –  Tryon Edwards

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Trapped in a spider’s web

  1. I love the analogy of the moth and the spider web – nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful Post, I just loved reading it.
    It is so true that most of the times we are the spider and so also the moth, if we could understand the sequence we can avoid being both and once we understand such things it shall be easy to be away from being a moth to any spider.
    “Finding the balance in living, understanding what you need rather than what you want is the best way to stay out of the spider’s web.”
    Permit me to add these lines
    “Stepping steps cautiously
    Saving our selves, from
    Spider and Moth”
    Regards,
    Shiva

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A brilliant post!
    Finding the balance in living, understanding what you need rather than what you want is the best way to stay out of the spider’s web.
    Very powerful, as a reminder and in it’s implication.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Patty says:

    Wow, marvelous post (again) Mr. Legend!
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

