Silence is a sound-too

Vast area

Back in May I wrote a post titled: Silence is a sound.

In the last paragraph of the post I state: Is there a place that exist on this planet where we could find complete silence? Think about it, nothing, no wind blowing, no water rushing, no birds singing, no babies crying, no people breathing, just the sound of silence. I simply cannot imagine what that sounds like. I am not entirely sure I want too.

Sitting on a rock overlooking this vast area in the Arches National Park outside of Moab, Utah I heard it, nothing, absolutely nothing. Honestly, I couldn’t believe it. Sadly it was fleeting, this sound, this moment was interrupted not by a car, a cell phone, the wind or birds but by my wife. It was there though, nothing, real nothing. Shortly, after my wife had ruined the moment by asking me if I wanted a sandwich, the wind picked back up and stayed with us during the rest of our hike.

Several years ago I bought a sleep machine, a little contraption that makes white noise. We got hooked on it (it’s like a drug) when the inn we were staying at in Charleston furnished us with one in our room. As soon as I got home I ordered one and twenty years later I can’t sleep without it. I typically take it with us when we travel, that is my job to remember to pack it. But occasionally I forget and my wife and I will lay in our hotel bed hoping and praying that the air condition fan will run all night long.

It is sad, but I can no longer sleep in silence. Actually if the fan does shut-off and the hotel room is dark and quiet my wife and I will both wake-up. I have tried to wean ourselves off of the sleep machine but by midnight, after tossing and turning for two hours I always turn the silence killer back on.

Why are so many of us afraid of silence, even lulls in conversations? What is so comforting about noise? Who knows, but I can safely say that I heard it, probably not for the first time but certainly for the first time I could acknowledge it, nothing. It really wasn’t that scary.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Silence is a sound-too

  1. jlfatgcs says:

    I depend on mine as well. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great entry. I agree completely. We are being inundated constantly by noise of all forms.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Smartygirl41 says:

    I can’t sleep with any noise or light in my room. The slightest noise annoys me to the point of anxiety when I’m trying to sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Smita Ray says:

    A thought provoking post. 🙂 Taking liberty to share something. May I ? Hope you don’t mind. Silence and sound are two ends. Both exist together. Without one another cannot exist. Practically, it seems impossible because nature is always on go. Never stops. Even during the quietest moment we can hear sounds. In fact, the quieter we become, even clearer and louder sounds get. Yet, sound is not just the vibration produced during the process. It is what our ears make out of them. We don’t know the vibration that is being produced but a copy of it. It is also about our mind. Everything we know through our senses is inside us. Apart from the outer world, there is this another world inside us. And the outer world is constantly flowing into inner world and visa-verse. And all these sounds being produced in outer and inner world are constantly through its process of transformation into silence. That’s why in the absence of this logical mind, in a timeless state when every detail we receive through our senses is perceived with infinitely greater richness and articulation, silence can be achieved .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely post. Silence can be endearing or intimidating depending on how noisy I am within 🙂 It is definitely a great teacher.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. manqindi says:

    Be careful what you wish for … being able to experience silence by choice is no doubt wonderful,
    Not hearing sounds is very uncomfortable – I am increasingly deaf and often miss sounds, which stabs me with sadness and angst!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My ears tend to ring if there is too little of noise going on. I have grown to love my sound machine too to sleep at night. Although, in the fall when I can leave the windows are open at night; the crickets are peaceful to fall asleep to. Absolute silence is kind of terrifying to think about, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am telling you it is sleep crack. I hate that I am so dependent on it. I can think of a 1000 other FUN things (Kerry Washington for example) I would rather be hooked on. But at my age I need to pick my poisons. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

